The Shanghai Postal Museum – finally!

31 Oct

I had tried to go to the Shanghai postal museum last year only to find out it was closed.  Recently I had a friend in town and so when he asked for things to do, the museum came to my mind again.

After a little bit of confusion – the museum is only open on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays – we headed out on a Saturday afternoon to see what was up.

Approaching the museum

Approaching the museum

This time the museum was open – at least the second floor, but the first floor was closed.  That was fine – it was an improvement from before when I couldn’t get in at all.

Posing by the mural at the entrance

Posing by the mural at the entrance

I was pretty impressed.  The museum was very informative and almost all bilingual.  The main exhibit was the history of the postal service in Shanghai which in some form is less than 150 years old.  Prior to the standardization of the service in the 1940s/1950s there were a lot of private delivery companies and no standard service.

The father of the Shanghai postal system - Zhu Xuefan

The father of the Shanghai postal system – Zhu Xuefan

One of the first post boxes in Shanghai - really beautiful.  Note that it is in English because of the concession system going on at the time.  Also - the dragon - pretty special.

One of the first post boxes in Shanghai – really beautiful. Note that it is in English because of the concession system going on at the time. Also – the dragon – pretty special.

Because the post office is now a state owned enterprise in China, there were a lot of things that made me smile.  They had done a propaganda movie and were showing it – sometime in the late 1970s or early 1980s about the valor and strength of post office workers.  There was also a postal song – which you could listen to over headphones.

The post office song

The post office song

And me listening to it - not Mozart, but pretty good

And me listening to it – not Mozart, but pretty good

In addition to the specific history there was also a collection of post boxes from around the world and of course lots and lots of stamps.  I also noticed a pretty decent children’s exhibit that explained what the post office did.

Any guesses on which countries?

Any guesses on which countries?

A few of the many stamps on display

A few of the many stamps on display

After going through, the only regret was that the third floor roof garden wasn’t open.  I had heard that there were beautiful views from there of Lujiazui.  Talking to the security guard he said that it has been closed since the Expo finished (back in 2010) because they believe it is too dangerous for visitors.  Makes me a little suspicious, but couldn’t do anything about it at the time.

Lujiazui - from behind!

Lujiazui – from behind!

The museum finished, we went and took a couple of shots looking back at Lujiazui from the edge of Suzhou Creek.  I am glad that I finally made it to the museum and would recommend it.

Happy Halloween to you all!  It was six years ago today that I got on the airplane for my first trip to China.  I can’t believe how quickly the time has gone and how much has happened in the last six years.  Keep reading and commenting and I’ll find the time to keep blogging!  Your support keeps me going.

5 Responses to “The Shanghai Postal Museum – finally!”

  1. Giovannoni Claudine October 31, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

    Just like it happens to me…
    when there are friends, I find myself ready to discover corners of my land ever visited!
    Many times you should just get up in the morning and say -there I haven’t been yet…
    Then equip youselves with good will and start to the adventure!
    Have a lovely day Claudine

    • gkm2011 November 2, 2013 at 10:43 am #

      I totally agree – you need guests to push you into doing the things you should do sometimes. Glad I finally made the visit!

  2. ladyofthecakes October 31, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

    Love that postbox! And also your tunic :)

    • gkm2011 November 2, 2013 at 10:44 am #

      Thanks – we have had some lovely weather, allows for combining summer and fall looks. The post boxes were a lot of fun.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Guest post – I’m ready to move to China* – Part 3 | 中国 Jumble - January 21, 2014

    […] Movie-Watching Day” was more than one movie! That afternoon at the Postal Museum (My hostess has covered that too well for me to add anything) I found myself watching another […]

Leave a Reply

Travels with Tricia A. Mitchell

Sharing Tales of People, Places & Passion. A travel blog to inspire & inform with slow-travel narratives about citizen diplomacy, culture, wine & food, and social good.

Living A Balanced Life

Advice on fitness, exercise, nutrition and enjoying a healthy life by Ariana Dane

China elevator stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

Girl in Florence

A Tuscan Texan immersed in Florentine life: passionate about food & wine | random moments | and travel

simpletravelourway

Beth and Joe enjoy simple and active travel. They post about their trips, including their travels around the world in 2013-2014. They welcome your comments and suggestions.

Articuleat

Where food and writing meet. Careful! It's a mouthful

A View From My Summerhouse

‘It’s never too late to become what you might have been' - George Eliot

A Girl and Her Travels

An American expat in Russia

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 384 other followers

