Flying high

7 Nov

I am still going through my pictures from Greece.  It is happening in fits and spurts between my new job and business travel and trying to stay in touch with my friends.  The whirlwind continues, but I am having a wonderful time soaring above it all.

These photos from Heraklion, Crete capture my feeling perfectly.  They were all taken on the same day.  I am the one flying high above – enjoying the beauty below and looking for a safe place to land.

Birds flying in the cathedral square

Birds flying in the cathedral square

Sunset over the harbor

Sunset over the harbor

An ancient wall and an airplane above

An ancient wall and an airplane above

I head out on another business trip this weekend so may be out of touch for a while, but will come back with more stories and photos.  I just need to make sure I don’t get caught up in the many currents that exist when I’m that high.  Landing can be the most difficult part – trying to relax after the go-go-go of work as it’s a long way down.  I’ll manage.

Do you soar?  What things make you ready to take on the world?  Where do you soar?   The skies of Greece were an ideal place.

4 Responses to “Flying high”

  1. Naomi Baltuck November 7, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

    Beautiful photos, Greta! I would love to go there someday!

    • gkm2011 November 8, 2013 at 7:50 am #

      I would recommend it. The photos are beautiful but it was even better in real life!

  2. ladyofthecakes November 7, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    That sunset pic is amazing :)

    • gkm2011 November 8, 2013 at 7:52 am #

      I agree – my husband has the endless patience to snap away and I am the beneficiary!

Leave a Reply

Travels with Tricia A. Mitchell

Sharing Tales of People, Places & Passion

Living A Balanced Life

Advice on fitness, exercise, nutrition and enjoying a healthy life by Ariana Dane

China elevator stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

Girl in Florence

A Tuscan Texan immersed in Florentine life: passionate about food & wine | random moments | and travel

simpletravelourway

Beth and Joe enjoy simple and active travel. They post about their trips, including their travels around the world in 2013-2014. They welcome your comments and suggestions.

Articuleat

Where food and writing meet. Careful! It's a mouthful

A View From My Summerhouse

‘It’s never too late to become what you might have been' - George Eliot

A Girl and Her Travels

An American expat in Russia

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 384 other followers

