A dinner escape on the Bund

9 Feb

After my harrowing experience with the air conditioner – I was pretty rattled.  Unfortunately (or fortunately) I had a client dinner scheduled that evening and so leaving the final details to Li, I headed to the Bund to meet my contact.

I had decided to book a restaurant which I had not gone to before – El Willy on the Bund.  The cuisine is Spanish fusion which made me curious, given that I had lived in Spain nearly 15 years ago now. The location is central, a little farther south than where I had taken my mother last year and it is inside a beautiful building.

As soon as I stepped in past the doorman, I could feel my nerves start to calm.  The building had an interior courtyard with the fall wall painted with foliage and the lights slowly changed to bathe the multiple layers.  It intrigued me so much that I snapped a couple of photos.

IMG_20140121_174906 IMG_20140121_174859

Right as I arrived, I got a call from my client who was running a little late which was a good thing because it gave me the chance to sip some tea, relax- and look at the beautiful view outside the windows.   Our table was situated perfectly, giving me access to the view.

The night was clear and crisp and the buildings on the Pudong side of the Bund sparkled.  Multiple buildings had moving patterns dancing across the front celebrating the upcoming Chinese New Year holiday.

The Bund - though I've seen it so many times, it still thrills - you can just see the darkness of the new tallest building against the night sky

The Bund – though I’ve seen it so many times, it still thrills – you can just see the darkness of the new tallest building against the night sky

Because it was a client dinner – I didn’t take any photos of the food, but I would go back there gladly at any time.  We sampled the tapas style plates – the smoked salmon croquettes were amazing, the traditional tortilla almost up to my Spain standards, fresh sardines and coddled eggs with chorizo and walked out with silly smiles on our faces.

El Willy delivered – the food, atmosphere and beautiful views reminded me again why I love Shanghai.

I love Shanghai!  The buildings captured my mood.

I love Shanghai! The buildings captured my mood.

Where do you go when you need to be re-inspired?  What rejuvenates you during the darkness of winter?

6 Responses to “A dinner escape on the Bund”

  1. Every Day Adventures in Asia February 9, 2014 at 12:20 pm #

    Got a kick out of the “I love Shanghai” on the building!

    We ate last night at the KL Tower’s revolving restaurant (Atmosphere 360′) last night and had a fabulous view of Kuala Lumpur by night. The view of the Petronas Towers from there is quite exceptional!

    • gkm2011 February 11, 2014 at 12:56 pm #

      Sounds like a wonderful view! Hope your project is going well.

      • Every Day Adventures in Asia February 11, 2014 at 8:39 pm #

        Project is going great! Wrap up Sat night then home… next project is already in the works & hopefully starts early March!

  2. ladyofthecakes February 9, 2014 at 7:42 pm #

    El Willy? Curious choice of restaurant name ;-)

    • gkm2011 February 11, 2014 at 12:58 pm #

      Haven’t looked it up – assumed that was just the Chef’s. name but you are right.

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

6+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

~ Photography ~ Nature ~ Culture ~ Travel ~ (Expat) Life ~

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Travels with Tricia A. Mitchell

Sharing Tales of People, Places & Passion. A travel blog to inspire & inform with slow-travel narratives about citizen diplomacy, culture, wine & food, and social good.

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things fitness: exercise, nutrition & attitude - by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 427 other followers

