Bite your tongue!

23 Mar

Last night at dinner I bit my tongue – hard.  It was one of those things where I wasn’t paying attention and instead of eggplant, I caught my own tongue.  Even this morning my tongue feels fat and a little swollen.

Ouch.

As we were walking home after the fact, my husband asked how I was feeling and then said that I  must have not eaten enough at dinner.

I looked at him with skepticism as I had eaten a ton – probably too much – and asked him to explain.

He said in his hometown if you bite your tongue it means that you are still hungry – no matter how much you’ve already eaten – whereas if you bite the inside of your cheek it means you have eaten too much and are full.

I don’t know if this is common throughout China, or specific to where Li grew up but I had not heard of any assumptions that occur with biting your tongue before.

Have you?

7 Responses to “Bite your tongue!”

  1. Every Day Adventures in Asia March 23, 2014 at 10:14 am #

    Not heard of these meanings… but can completely relate and super ouch!

  2. The Vanilla Housewife March 23, 2014 at 1:19 pm #

    In our country, it is said that somebody is talking about you behind your back or that someone misses you and told somebody about it. :)

    • gkm2011 March 29, 2014 at 7:36 pm #

      Interesting – in China if you sneeze they say someone misses you.

  3. Naomi Baltuck March 24, 2014 at 2:11 pm #

    Interesting! I love to learn about the folklore of a place. I hope your tongue feels better!

    • gkm2011 March 29, 2014 at 7:37 pm #

      All well at this point – it was a short term issue!

  4. fancyfrivolous March 26, 2014 at 4:29 am #

    my grandmother told me that biting your tongue means your making the wrong decision or decisions in some area of your life. i don’t know how much i believe it, but whenever i bite my tongue i take a step back and rethink things.

    • gkm2011 March 29, 2014 at 7:38 pm #

      That is an interesting one – what culture was your grandmother from? Stepping back and rethinking is normally a good thing.

Leave a Reply

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Travels with Tricia A. Mitchell

Sharing Tales of People, Places & Passion. A travel blog to inspire & inform with slow-travel narratives about citizen diplomacy, culture, wine & food, and social good.

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things fitness: exercise, nutrition & attitude - by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

Girl in Florence

A Tuscan Texan immersed in Florentine life: passionate about food & wine | random moments | and travel

simpletravelourway

Beth and Joe enjoy simple and active travel. They post about their trips, including their travels around the world in 2013-2014. They welcome your comments and suggestions.

Articuleat

Where food and writing meet. Careful! It's a mouthful

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers

