My Shanghai – our local hair salon

6 Apr

Since I have grown my hair long, I don’t go to the salon nearly as often as I did before.  My husband, however, goes about once a month to make sure that his cut stays in shape.  Because of that – he actually has a longer running relationship with his salon and stylist than I do.  He has followed her from one salon to another and even (in a moment of weakness) over a year ago, bought a membership card which means he gets 50% off all products and services.

Before Chinese New Year I decided I wanted to get my hair  trimmed and he asked if I wanted to go to his salon, which I gladly accepted.  I enjoyed it so much that recently I went back for another trim when Li went in to get his hair cut.

This salon is more traditional than some which means that they wash your hair while you are sitting in the chair – a dry wash – instead of over the sink.  Because it is done that way they can also simultaneously massage your shoulders and neck – which feels wonderful.  After a rinse they then finish the massage down your arms and hands so by the time the stylist arrives you are in a very pleasing mental state.

Enjoying a "dry shampoo"

Enjoying a “dry shampoo”

The shampoo girls were new arrivals in Shanghai, happy to practice their little bit of English and it made me remember the first time I got my hair cut in Shanghai where I couldn’t understand much more than, “Hello, goodbye, I don’t want that and thank you.”  How much has changed in seven years (I can have a full conversation now and actually am familiar with the different regions where the girls were from) – and how much has stayed the same, the continual change in Shanghai and people coming here to seek their fortune.

The cut itself is a little bit of an afterthought in my case – just a quick trim, but still nice to have someone else cut and style and blow dry.

By the time we walked out over an hour later I felt looser and lighter – all for the cost of 30RMB (less than $5USD).  Maybe I should get my hair trimmed every week?

What is your favorite salon?

19 Responses to “My Shanghai – our local hair salon”

  1. Chinadoll April 6, 2014 at 9:27 pm #

    I love getting my hair cut in China! The head massages they give is amazing :D But the first time I went to a hairsalon in China was to get some blonde highlights, and I walked out about an hour or so later whit a hair that was just awful! it was not blonde, but yellow!…I have to admit I never went back to that hair salon..lol. Luckily my man’s bestfriend owns a hairsalon just right next to where we lived, so I would go there like every week, even if it was not for a haircut, but just for them to wash my hair and style it before going out or something :P I absolutely love it.. In Norway I have to pay an extra 300 rmb just for a head massage …. >.<

    • gkm2011 April 6, 2014 at 9:31 pm #

      I had almost forgotten what a luxury Chinese salons are since I’ve grown my hair long – I think I’ll definitely be going back for some wash and style sessions in the meantime – it really made me feel great! Should take advantage of it now – when I used to get my haircut in Chicago it was $75 USD – so similar to what you’re talking about. :)

      • Chinadoll April 6, 2014 at 9:33 pm #

        You definitely should :D I have stopped going to hairsalons in Norway.. its waaaay too expensive and it’s not even close to as comfortable as it is in China :P

  2. Every Day Adventures in Asia April 6, 2014 at 9:48 pm #

    Delighted you shared your pampering story! Hmm… maybe once I get mobile again a spa day is in order! Won’t be that cheap though!!

  3. ladyofthecakes April 6, 2014 at 10:23 pm #

    Great photo :)

    I must be the only person in the world who really hates those head massages…

    • gkm2011 April 7, 2014 at 10:51 am #

      Probably not, but definitely a minority. Any specific reasons – and are you anti-massage in general or just head massages?

      • ladyofthecakes April 7, 2014 at 4:26 pm #

        I’m not good with them in general. I don’t really like strangers touching me. However, I wouldn’t way that I categorically hated massages.

  4. sarahinguangzhou April 7, 2014 at 4:37 pm #

    Yes I miss being able to go to the hairdressers to get my hair washed and dried and get a massage; now it’s so expensive I only go when it needs cutting, about twice a year.
    Do they still do that thing where they clean your ears? The first time that happened I practically hit the girl; I’d been relaxing with my eyes shut and suddenly there’s a stick in my ear.

    • gkm2011 April 11, 2014 at 5:25 pm #

      They do, but this place does use cotton swabs instead of the stick, forgot to mention that element!

  5. CrazyChineseFamily April 8, 2014 at 12:53 am #

    I love to get a haircut in China, not because the hairdressers I had so far were any better than what I am used to from Europe but due to the great head, neck and shoulder massage. Sometimes I felt so relaxed that I actually fell asleep during the massage…
    Each time I visit China I go to get a haircut on the second, latest third day of the arrival

    • gkm2011 April 11, 2014 at 5:27 pm #

      I can see that for sure, now that I can talk to the staff. It is such a lovely treat!

  6. onechicklette April 20, 2014 at 10:45 am #

    How interesting! I’m curious about the shampoo process. Can you elaborate? I have never been to China.

    • gkm2011 April 20, 2014 at 9:03 pm #

      It is a shampoo where you sit in the chair and they use a squeeze bottle to slowly add shampoo and water and they massage it in. There will be a ball of shampoo on top of your head which then gets massaged in. It is very relaxing!

      • onechicklette April 20, 2014 at 10:01 pm #

        Do they rinse it out?

      • gkm2011 April 21, 2014 at 8:11 am #

        Yes, in a regular chair – but that is after 15-20 minutes with the ball of shampoo on top of your head!

  7. Eileen黃愛玲 April 20, 2014 at 9:13 pm #

    Love this!

    Yesss, I do like getting my haircut in Shanghai, especially the shampooing. In the States, I dread getting shampooed because my neck always hurt in the end. :O

    I graduated from cosmetology and know a lot about hair so sometimes I help newbies. xD At least because of this I don’t get a bad haircut. xD

    • gkm2011 April 20, 2014 at 9:33 pm #

      You are more professional than I then – but glad to know you share the same opinion of Shanghai shampoos!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

6+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

~ Photography ~ Nature ~ Culture ~ Travel ~ (Expat) Life ~

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Travels with Tricia A. Mitchell

Sharing Tales of People, Places & Passion. A travel blog to inspire & inform with slow-travel narratives about citizen diplomacy, culture, wine & food, and social good.

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things fitness: exercise, nutrition & attitude - by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 428 other followers

