Playing in the clouds

17 Jul

At the end of June our entire team went for team-building in Zhangjiajie which is in Hunan province.  Hunan may be most famous for being the home of Mao Zedong, however Zhangjiajie is newly rediscovered in China because it is where they shot a good portion of scenery for last year’s blockbuster “Avatar.”  Our schedule included rafting, climbing mountains, hikes through the forest and some optional events like seeing the evening show with the mountains as backdrop or getting a foot massage (needed after climbing mountains).

Unfortunately the weather conspired against us.  The first day it was too dangerous to raft because of heavy rains which had turned the river very turbulent – too turbulent for our novice group and the last day it was very cloudy which making taking pictures difficult.  That said a good time was had by all.

I have included a few pictures below.

Teambuilding or traveling with colleagues is a cultural difference, but is actually pretty common here – “market median” when we consult to clients. I can’t imagine in Chicago asking the entire department to travel together over a weekend. While initially I was skeptical, I had a very good time – ate lots of spicy food (Hunan’s specialty) and feel that I now know my colleagues at a deeper level.

I wonder where we’ll go next year?

9 Responses to “Playing in the clouds”

  1. Mike Butchart July 17, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    Wow. If we’d had something like this at work I may never have retired. I hope all is well with you as we are enduring some very hot weather and lack of rain. Emily and Greg will be in town next weekend (it’s Greg’s mothers birthday) and we will be traveling to Hilton Head with Julie in late September.
    I’m hearing something going boom outside and had to look as this is the weekend of the baloon festival (backat at Sharp Park) and the civil war muster. The boom is the fireworks and not a civil war batle reenactment.
    Take care and I’ll continue with the weekly update!

  2. Emily July 17, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Greta it is so great to hear you musings and look at your pictures. I look forward to reading about what you are doing.

  3. cory July 18, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    how far of a flight/train is it from shanghai to zhangjiajie? sounds like a great place to visit.

    • gkm2011 July 19, 2011 at 7:51 am #

      The flight was just less than 2 hours, but when we researched the train it was an overnight train ride of almost 20 hours because there are no fast trains.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The first quarter review « 中国 Jumble - October 16, 2011

    […] viewed – strangely enough, my first full post Playing in the Clouds, has had the most page clicks.  This post shared some photos from our team outing to Zhangjiajie […]

  2. Flowers of Tengchong, Yunnan « 中国 Jumble - April 29, 2012

    […] airport, I recently took a trip to Tengchong, Yunnan. The trip was similar to my trip last year to Zhangjiajie, Hunan as it was with my work colleagues. The scale of this trip was smaller – it was only folks from […]

  3. Above the clouds « 中国 Jumble - July 1, 2012

    […] a year ago I started this blog with a post on Playing in the Clouds and it seems with these shots I have almost gone full […]

  4. Travel theme: Signs « 中国 Jumble - August 16, 2012

    […] photo was taken during my team outing in June 2011 to Zhangjiajie, Hunan province and was posted on the window/balcony of my hotel room which was on a higher […]

  5. Hualien Beach, Taiwan | 中国 Jumble - May 12, 2013

    […] Taiwan with my colleagues – the annual outing once again.  Two years ago, it was my trip to Zhangjiajie that led to the first post on my blog.  Last year I headed to Tengchong and then also slipped in a […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya