My Piano

24 Jul

About a year ago I rented a piano and since my lease was up at the beginning of July, I had to extend.  It was one of the better decisions I’ve made – having the ability to play has been a great stress reliever.  With the extension came one free piano tuning.  Watching and listening to a piano tuner is always interesting.  This time he was a very petite, elderly gentleman who in two seconds flat had the front of the piano off and his tools out.  We discussed some sticky keys that I’d been having ( Shanghai ’s humidity is not the ideal piano preservation environment) and he went to work.

After he left, I pulled out my books and opened one that the rental agency had included in the cost of the rental.  Right after “Redest is the Sun, Dearest is Chairman Mao” is another one of the more famous songs in China – Liang Shan Bo and Zhu Ying Tai (梁山伯舆祝英台) which I started to play.  Last year one of my friends came over and heard me play it and asked where I learned it, recognizing it right away. When I went to Hangzhou last year all of the electric carts had horns that played part of this song, so it is an ingrained part of Chinese culture, a really lovely song. 

I’ve included a link to the Richard Clayderman version of the song (which is also the name on the book that I have) for you to enjoy.  One more song that is now on the soundtrack of my time here.

LIANG ZHU

 Happy listening!

2 Responses to “My Piano”

  1. Christa July 25, 2011 at 1:14 am #

    Greta! I rented a digital piano when I lived in Oakland, and I was really happy with it. I want to rent one here too, now that I live in a place big enough to have one, but I haven’t found a place to rent from yet. I hope you continue to enjoy yours!

    When are you coming home??? 🙂 Trish, Mike, and Charlotte just decided to move back to Oak Park from NYC, so I will again be making trips to Chicago. Wish you were there too! I shared your blog link with Mike, so he will be checking in on you too. Any plans to come to the ND reunion next summer? Miss you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tuning the ivories « 中国 Jumble - March 25, 2012

    […] My piano is a source of joy and relaxation in the apartment.  Renting it a year and a half ago was a good move hands down.  Last weekend the piano tuner came – along with my rental comes twice yearly tune-ups.  The same gentleman has come before and after Shanghai’s cold winter and the temperature fluctuations over the last six months the piano needed his services as one of the low E flat keys was especially sticky. […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

