Sundays

31 Jul

For the last several months I have been going to church on a regular basis, at least when I am in Shanghai.  I finally discovered an English speaking mass that is no more than 30 minutes from my house.  There is only one mass time – noon – and it is definitely one of the more diverse crowds than I have seen.  I’d estimate it’s about 60 percent Filipino and the rest – who knows, probably 10 percent Spanish speaking and the remaining 30 percent from all over, but English speaking.  During the non-summer months there is a French mass every other week that is currently on sabbatical.

Having recently traveled to Singapore, I wanted to try out a mass there as well.  I Googled “Catholic churches in Singapore” and eventually found out that there was a church with services in English about a 30 minute walk from my hotel.  On my way there I actually passed 5 other churches, but none of them were Catholic.  I was tempted by the Armenian church though – if the service had been in English I would have considered it.

Singapore is a very warm country – the “coolest” it every gets is maybe 75 degrees, so imagine my surprise when I arrived at the church and there was no air conditioning!  There were an army of fans to cool you off and move the air around, but no air conditioning.  My guess is that the expense was too great at the time air conditioning started to become popular and then afterward people all felt – well, we’ve done without it for this long…  This does explain though why I could only find one noon mass, all the rest of the masses were prior to 11am or after 4pm.

The celebrant was from India and told some great stories, so much so that I didn’t realize that mass actually went almost an hour and a half.  It takes a good preacher to keep the congregants involved for that long.  Quite impressive.

After mass, walking back to the hotel I felt like I was melting – ducked into a mall and had a nice foot massage to cool off.  Not a bad start to the day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve included some pictures here of the church I went to, as well as some other shots from that walk to services.

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

