Changing in China

4 Aug

I am very excited to have a visitor this August.  My friend and former roommate Chris – with whom I started this China experience – is back in China for almost two months, culminating with a trip to Shanghai.   In a strange twist of fate, Chris went from being an English teacher in China to a Chinese teacher in the US and is back here attending a conference on teaching methods.

It’s not just him though – China tends to put a twist in career paths or start new ones.  I have friends who have moved from teaching to public policy, teaching to video design, from a lawyer to a not-for-profit consultant, teaching in China to teaching in Poland.  Even my role – if you had asked me three years ago what my job would be, I can pretty much guarantee I could not have given you a copy of my job description now.

Recently there has been a series on Marketplace (NPR’s radio show, which I am an avid listener, via the podcast function) about China.  The premise is that five years ago they went to China when the current host lived there (Kai Ryssdal) and now they want to see how things have changed.  By my count, five years in China is probably 35 years in a more developed country and the parallels that they are drawing are interesting and insightful.  I have included a separate post with a link to the stories and videos that they have put through for your reference as well.

The speed of change is wonderful, but also rather scary.  Can we as human beings process that much change?  What falls by the wayside as we attempt to adapt?  Are we able to learn from the past?

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

3 Responses to “Changing in China”

  1. Mona March 10, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

    Your blog header …. I’ve seen that on one of the ancient sites in Beijing. The Temple of Heaven I think. Am I correct? Or possibly the ancient Temple in Beijing near the Hutong.

    • gkm2011 March 10, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      As far as I remember it is from the Forbidden City – painted up under the eaves. It is definitely from Beijing – good eye!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Evolving Shanghai « 中国 Jumble - March 6, 2012

    […] the World Expo in 2010.  Last August when I was just starting this blog I had a post on “Changing in China” and I also linked to the Marketplace series which was looking back 5 years, so the idea of […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

