Singapore Specialties

11 Aug

My last trip to Singapore I was able to eat some great food.  Since Singapore is such a mix of cultures – Malay, Indian, Chinese, Western – the restaurants and choices there can be overwhelming.  Luckily, with the guidance of my colleagues I was able to sample two of the more famous Singapore specialties – the chilli crab and a few of the many specialities at the Hawker Market known as Lau Pa Sat which is a 10 minute walk from our office.

Off the top of my head, probably the most famous item is the “Singapore Sling” – the pink cocktail that is served the world over.  I’ve had those before, a potent mix that can give a pretty bad headache.  When I googled recipes I had 1.4 million results, so it may just be Singapore’s most publicized specialty.  Personally though, I’d focus on some of the other edibles and leave the drinks.  Alcohol in Singapore is expensive, so it makes more sense to focus on the delicious accompaniments.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

First the crab – we went to the restaurant called Jumbo – of which there were two within walking distance of my hotel.  I was staying near an area called Clarke Quay – known for its nightlife and great restaurant scene which happens to be a 20 minute walk from the office.  Kitted up in aprons with finger bowls and a stack of wet-wipes, we ordered both the chilli crab and the black pepper crab.  While not a dish to eat while wearing your Sunday best, the sauce complimented the sweet meat as we cracked and disembodied the crab.  There were also a pile of freshly fried buns that could be used to sop up the sauce.  Yum.

The Hawker Market – Lau PaSat – was a different kind of experience.  Inside a classic cast iron structure (without air conditioning) there were probably 75 to 100 different food stalls, each with specialities ranging from noodles, curries, satays, soups, fried dishes, fresh juice, tea, fruits.  All food stalls are inspected and given a rating and you can even use your credit card to pay.  After circling for a table and then observing, I settled on Indian food as that is the most difficult for me to get in China.  We also shared a beautiful plate of fruit at the end of the meal, mango, starfruit, dragonfruit and asian pear.  The hustle and bustle reminded me of China, but the cleanliness and the lines were definitely a Singaporean twist.

We saw a stage in the middle and my colleagues said that at night it wasn’t quite as crazy, though still busy, and there would be live music accompanying the night market.  I’ll have to go back sometime and check it out.

2 Responses to “Singapore Specialties”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The first quarter review « 中国 Jumble - October 16, 2011

    […] appreciated – Singapore specialties – a post that I think occurred after everyone had taken a first look at my blog and then took […]

  2. The glamour of business travel « 中国 Jumble - March 22, 2012

    […] hotel,” eat at the Hawker’s market that I wrote about in one of my first blog posts and hopefully create an action plan for a situation that is desperately […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

