Hoofing it

23 Aug

I walk to work.  A lot.  My office is about twenty minutes away.  It is my time for the day to prepare mentally or wind down and I walk by a pretty park as well so there is some greenery in the urban jungle which is Shanghai.

Chinese people think this is strange.  Even after three years my office mates are always verifying – “You really walk?”  “Isn’t that tiring?”

I recently was at a party comparing war stories with another expat.  He said that his Chinese driver told him once – “I walked for 10 minutes and then I got tired.  I’ll never walk so far again.”

And they say Americans are lazy?

5 Responses to “Hoofing it”

  1. roomaomao January 10, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    I walked for over 2 hours from Xintiandi to Changshou Lu after work 2 years ago when it was snowing like a beast. That was awesome.

    • gkm2011 January 10, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

      I love walking to work, it is one of my best decisions to get an apartment so close that I can do it. Two hours in the snow though? Not so cool.

      • roomaomao January 10, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

        I did it purely because of the snow! I kinda actually miss the stuff from Ohio.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shanghai street sounds « 中国 Jumble - August 21, 2012

    […] I walk to work, I use my headphones pretty much every day.  I listen to music, I listen to podcasts and I use […]

  2. Taxi roulette | 中国 Jumble - September 27, 2014

    […] I switched jobs last year I can no longer walk to work.  I miss my daily walks and now really have to make an effort to get out and about more – […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

