Office attire

26 Aug

It still amazes me what is considered office attire.  I would like to think that I have influenced the office positively since I’ve come – though summer tends to bring out the exhibitionist in many.  I was riding down the elevator this evening and on a floor below a girl got in.  She was wearing – I thought — at the beginning only a white dress shirt with sky high platform heels.

Now I’m a fan of shirtwaists and tailored dresses, but this was not that.  I realized as she got out that she was also wearing “booty shorts” under the shirt.  Luckily she wasn’t from my office, but I couldn’t help thinking what would happen if she wore that in Chicago and what profession people would think she specialized in.  I had to bite my tongue from laughing on the ride down.

2 Responses to “Office attire”

  1. valerie August 27, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    So do you plan on joining this new and interesting fashion trend?? As I’m sure you’ve already purchased some booty shorts. Just kidding.

    I’ve seen similar attire by people at my office and it’s hard not to stare. The culprit department tends to be member services/call centers (to which, I have to say I’m not surprised that this happens). And it’s similar here that summer brings about the more intereting fashion choices. There are the periodic emails to all people in the building reminding them of the corporate dress code…however, I think that email goes straight to SPAM for some individuals.

    • gkm2011 August 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

      I likely won’t be joining this one, but if I see a pair on sale I’ll consider it!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

