Nei Xiang vs. Nei Xiong

6 Sep

内向 vs. 内熊

I had been studying Chinese for a while and just started to get into some of the more conceptual words – including the words for introvert (nei xiang) and extrovert (wai xiang).  I was so pleased with myself that I tried to insert it into a conversation the next day.  What came out was nei xiong, not nei xiang.  I had inadvertently said that I am an internally focused bear (as in brown bear, polar bear, grizzly bear) instead of an introverted person.  When my friend stopped laughing, she explained the difference.

To learn a language.

4 Responses to “Nei Xiang vs. Nei Xiong”

  1. Crystal September 6, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    Haha reminds me of the tour guide we had in Wuhan who messed up a couple of times when he meant to say I’m taking everyone to board the ship but instead said I’m taking everyone to bed! Isn’t Chinese fun? 🙂

    • gkm2011 September 7, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

      Ah yes, the famous bed vs. boat. I remember doing that one myself in chinese class too!

  2. Tex September 6, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    She has freckles on her, but she’s cute versus She has freckles on her butt; she’s cute.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The first quarter review « 中国 Jumble - October 16, 2011

    […] trying to keep something green in our environment and the struggle with fresh flowers vs. plants.  Nei Xiang vs. Nei Xiong also got some fun comments about language learning and […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

