Profiles – My trainer

8 Sep

I believe exercise is one element of my life that helps keep me sane.  However, given my schedule, sometimes my own willpower wanes a bit. Having a personal trainer keeps me on track and focused, reminding me that my own health is a high priority.  My initial trainer in Chicago – Ralph – was great – he got me on the path to fitness and explained all the confusing weight machines.  It was an empowering experience.  My current trainer Bruce (he chose the name because of Bruce Lee) continues in that path.

Bruce and I have been working out for over two years now.  He is the longest serving trainer in the gym that is in the middle of my apartment complex.  Over the last couple of years we have gotten to know each other in the way that is unique – he is has seen me at my worst and best and pushes me to new limits.

Bruce is also an aspiring model and a frequent network television variety show participant.  He is an Apple fanatic and has gone through three iPhones while I have known him.  It is using his phone that he shows me his recent adventures including but not limited to:

  1. Modeling underwear for an online ad campaign
  2. Participating in a vocal variety show where he sang “Memory” from Cats
  3. Getting chosen as a preferred dating partner on a televised matchmaking game
  4. Performing feats of strength – ie doing push-ups with a woman standing on his back serenading the audience with a song accompanied by different instruments on still another show

He is one of the “go to” participants for these type of shows for a local TV station outside of Shanghai and occasionally will tell me about new events and things that he is involved with, going multiple levels on different shows, though to my knowledge he has never actually won.  If each person has 15 minutes of fame Bruce has figured out a way to double or triple his.

He is a great guy – patient, curious – always asking how to say different words in English, very strong (useful for a trainer) and he doesn’t seem to lack any new exercise ideas.  With his help I have done all types of lifting, fitness assessments and even sporadically boxing.  I think the boxing is when he needs a pick-me-up as my boxing skills remain quite laughable – to the point that the rest of the gym will smile too.

Anyone else have any trainer stories?

One Response to “Profiles – My trainer”

  1. valerie September 11, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    HA — I think I need Bruce as my trainer!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

