The missing crabs

17 Sep

I wrote a post earlier this week about Mooncakes – but I neglected to mention that occasionally there will be alternate gifts.  One company decided to gift live hairy crabs – which are a huge thing here in Shanghai.  I figured out how to redeem the crabs and chose the time today (Saturday) that they would be delivered.

An advertisement for "the real deal"

I woke up early, expecting a delivery, slightly nervous about how I would prepare them.  The hairy crabs should be numbered, indicating their lake of origin, and timely delivery is very important.  They were supposed to be delivered by noon, so I took my phone with me to exercise and was on edge all morning.  At 1pm, they still hadn’t arrived.  Li called the company for me and they said – there are no crabs.  When we asked why they said – they’re still too small – they aren’t big enough to travel yet.  You need to choose another date in a few weeks.

Since I’ll be traveling starting next week, I selected a date mid-October.  If they arrive the second time, I’ll let you know.

I’ve been on a bit of a food kick lately with the blog posts – three in a row!  Rest assured I will be writing about other things as well.  Happy eating.

4 Responses to “The missing crabs”

  1. valerie September 17, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    I will be curious to know how you end up preparing the crabs!

    • gkm2011 September 18, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

      My instinct is that they should be steamed (I’m not ready for Singapore’s chili crab yet). But the dipping sauces and the length of time and the sides….
      I’ll let you know.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Missing Crabs – Part II « 中国 Jumble - October 20, 2011

    […] a month ago I did a post about my missing crabs as the delivery that never […]

  2. The second quarter review « 中国 Jumble - January 17, 2012

    […] adventure – “The Missing Crabs, Part I and Part II” resulted in comments, shared stories and more laughs.  I love food and the […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

