Exploring – Longhua

2 Oct

Every once in a while I take a day off to just “be” in the city.  In September I took the opportunity to lead myself on another one of the “Time Out Shanghai” walking tours.  This one took me to the west side of Shanghai to the Longhua Revolutionary Martyrs Cemetary/Park and Longhua Temple.  It was a bright sunny day (my shoulders got a little sunburned) that was perfect for exploring. 

I had never been to that part of the city before and so took the subway – line 9 to line 3.  Line 3 for most of its itinerary is actually an elevated train, kind of like Chicago’s “El” which gives you a bird’s eye view of the city.  After leaving the subway I walked for about 10 minutes to the entrance of the Park.  It was huge – and given the beautiful day, pretty much deserted.  There were a group of grandparents with small children under the  shade of the trees and a group of folks playing cards by one of the ponds but very few tourists were there which was a welcome respite from the typical state of affairs here.

The sculpture in the park is the star – but it is strangely western.  If you look at the photos in the slideshow below, even though they celebrate the communist martyrs, they could fit into many western countries as well.   I wandered for over an hour, among the bamboo groves, hedgerows and sculptures – including the eternal flame and dancing for freedom sculptures.

After such a pleasant walk, I then went to the temple where I tried to be as inconspicuous as possible when taking a few photos.  This is truly a working temple and as such there were many people there who were focused on praying – I was the only one I saw with a camera.  My Chinese teacher had reminded me that most Buddhist temples also serve lunch and so I got a bowl of vegetarian noodles and slurped them down.  The really nice thing was that some other people sat at communal table even though there were other seats and I was the only foreigner there.  I felt more a part of something than I have in Shanghai for a while.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If I have any more visitors I would definitely recommend Longhua Park and Temple.  It was worth exploring.

Please comment on your favorite photo!

4 Responses to “Exploring – Longhua”

  1. valerie October 3, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    I liked the eternal flame photo showing the statue coming out of the ground. Hope you’re having a good weekend!

    • gkm2011 October 8, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

      I thought that was a pretty neat one as well – though the bamboo photo may be my favorite. Good to see you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Exploring Shanghai – Hongqiao Park and Xinhua Road « 中国 Jumble - May 20, 2012

    […] that I have taken before.  I have posted about a couple of them last year – the walk around Longhua Temple and walking through Shanghai’s Jewish district.  I’ve also done another couple but […]

  2. Travel Theme: Leading lines « 中国 Jumble - August 9, 2012

    […] photos were taken last fall when I went to explore Longhua Temple towards the west side of Shanghai.  The first is a shot of the elevated subway – so many […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

