A doll house?

4 Oct

I was walking home from work recently and was almost home when I saw what looked like a large doll house to the left of the road.  It was about the size of a medium sized dog house and had a chimney, windows and what looked like rooms inside.  I smiled, thinking some child would be very happy playing with such a pretty doll house.

As I got closer I smelled burning.  Walking by, I realized that there was a man, slowly stuffing fake money into the “doll house” and setting it on fire.  What I thought was a children’s toy was really an offering in remembrance of a loved one.  By the next morning it will be gone, carrying wishes and dreams and blessings in the smoke.

I’m glad that I looked close enough to see the real meaning.

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

