A stylish cut

27 Oct

I have gone to the same salon for the last couple of years.  Overall I have been satisfied with the service and happy with my different haircuts.  Over the last two years I’ve had different stylists and different styles but I’ve never had quite the experience that I had with my most recent cut.

I had booked a four o’clock appointment and was a little early but wanted to see if they could slide me in.  When I got there the drill was the same as always – wash first.  Then before I got my head wet, they said that the stylist wanted to talk to me about what I wanted to do.  Ok, no problem.

I sat down in the chair and one person asked me what I wanted to do and translated it for my stylist.  The stylist that they gave me was Japanese!  He didn’t speak English and he didn’t speak Chinese.  I was slightly shocked, but through the translator (the individual who eventually washed my hair) we clarified my goals and went forward.  

Once I realized that the Japanese stylist did know what he was doing, I relaxed a bit.  Each time he had a question he called back the translator and we went through the same drill.  He asked what kind of brush I use, whether the length was right, if I wanted more layers,… I think because we didn’t speak the same language we both became hyper aware.

Pose for the camera

I was really pleased with the results.

Any fun communication stories?

One Response to “A stylish cut”

  1. Anne October 31, 2011 at 12:01 am #

    Cute cut and outfit!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

