Setting a schedule

30 Oct

One of the big challenges living here is scheduling. My work schedule will change mid-day – clients cancel meetings an hour or two before.  I schedule a massage and they change the masseuse without telling me.  You book a table at a restaurant and then still have to wait 30 minutes sometimes to sit down.  Other places don’t even let you make a reservation – just come and wait – eventually your turn will come.  Even when they delivered the hairy crabs – they couldn’t tell me if they’d be there in the morning or at night, which is why they got delivered to the office in the first place.

There are two phrases in Chinese that I feel are applicable here – 我喜欢 (Wo xi huan) 我习惯 (Wo xi guan).  The first means to like something – “I like it”, the second means “I am accustomed to it.”  When said quickly they sound almost the same.  For my first year or so living in China I confused the two.

Basically – “I am accustomed” to the scheduling, or lack thereof, but that doesn’t mean that “I like it”. It is one of the things that I long for – the efficiency of home, but that said there is a lot here that is worth waiting for.  I also now know to bring a book.

Any challenges that you have scheduling?

One Response to “Setting a schedule”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Red envelopes « 中国 Jumble - January 3, 2012

    […] this is the way the culture works here, but it is one of those things that I’m still “not accustomed to.”  I view the art of picking out the perfect present for someone for Christmas or buying a […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

