Four years

31 Oct

It was four years ago today that I got on an airplane and came to China for the first time.  I remember that on the flight the flight attendants were all wearing Halloween costumes – it was probably my most memorable Halloween to date.  As I have been thinking about how I wanted to document this anniversary there were so many memories and feelings swirling through my head.

Happy Birthday Tony and Happy Anniversary to me!

Four in Chinese (四) is pronounced “Si” or “Suh” which sounds very similar to the word for death.  It’s kind of like “13” at home.  Many buildings don’t have a fourth floor or a fourteenth floor and people will pay additional money for a phone number or a license plate that doesn’t include a “4”.   I just finished my fourth year – I guess by definition that means that it should have been a struggle.

The last year has been a challenging one, especially professionally, and there have been times that I have seriously debated booking a one way ticket back.  Thanks to the support of my friends and family I have emerged a stronger person – someone more able to role with the punches, deal with uncertainty better and try for some modicum of balance.  This blog over the last several months has served as a great outlet to refocus me and make me laugh and starting thinking again of my life as an adventure.

For this post I chose the picture of my brother and I that I currently keep on my refrigerator where we are posing in front of Shanghai’s ubiquitous TV tower.  It is the symbol of the new city – the glittering Pudong skyline.  I also chose it because my brother’s birthday is November 2nd – so Happy Birthday Tony!
 
I am ready for my fifth year – an opportunity to redefine my path and try something shiny and new, just like the lights and towers of Lujiazui.  While I don’t know where I will be or what I will be doing come Halloween 2012, I know that whatever it is, I won’t be bored.
 
Thank you all for your support.
One Response to “Four years”

  1. valerie October 31, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

