You go where?

15 Nov

I was waiting at the corner after lunch recently and noticed that there were a lot of students surrounding me.  They were all wearing matching sweatshirts.  I was kind of zoned out, but then I realized what they said.  Very neatly on the upper breast pocket they had the name of the school written in English.  “Bile Senior Middle School”

I nearly burst out laughing, right there.

My guess is in Chinese it is pronounced something like – BEE – LUH Senior Middle School but there were no Chinese characters so I can’t be sure. 

I remember the jokes that we made about Parkside Middle School back in Jackson.  I can only imagine what jokes could be told about Bile Senior Middle School.  If only those students knew.

2 Responses to “You go where?”

  1. Christa November 16, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    That’s ok. When I was in 1st grade our elementary school was under construction, so they split up the grades and scattered us around to temporary schools until construction was completed. So, in 1st grade, I attended Boner Elementary. No joke.

    • gkm2011 November 18, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

      Really? That was certainly a poor choice of role model!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

