Naming rights

22 Nov

When I was teaching English, some of my more amusing moments came from the initial class where I learned my students’ English names.  Two favorites that I still remember are “Kinki” and “Green.”  I remember having multiple discussions with Kinki (who actually had excellent English and was very bright), that perhaps her future with a multinational employer may be colored slightly by her name.

Coming to work afterwards I encountered a couple of other fun names.  We once had an intern who insisted his English name was Lonely – I did manage to convince him that wasn’t such a good idea.  We also dealt with a vendor who called himself Larva.  That was just strange.  I had to write a note to his boss saying that the foreigner who was working with him (my client) was having a difficult time with the name and please ask him to use his Chinese name instead.  It was one of the stranger emails I have written.

However, a few days ago when I was at a convenience store I have my new favorite English name.  The person waiting in line behind me was wearing a name badge – I’m not sure what company.  His English name was – “Hide”

Choosing your name puts you in a powerful and unique position.  If you could choose another one – what would you choose?

2 Responses to “Naming rights”

  1. Tex November 25, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Have any Chinese chosen Tex as a given name? I am offended if no one has.

    • gkm2011 November 25, 2011 at 10:15 am #

      I have not met any “Tex’s” yet, but China is a big country. I’m sure I just haven’t met the right person.

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

