Exploring – Kunming, Yunnan part 1

8 Dec

The last day we were in Yunnan I was on my own to explore Kunming, the capital city.  Li had a series of meetings that he had to attend (hence the reason we were in Yunnan at all), but I had taken the day off from work and decided to head out and see what the town had to offer.  My original plan (to go to a place called the Bamboo Temple) was derailed when I got into the taxi cab in the morning and the driver said that it was too far and very difficult to get back from.  My secondary plan, was then to go to a place called Xi Shan (West Mountain), that was closer and also had a transportation link to the Yunnan Cultural Ethnic Minority Town, which seemed like as good as way as any to spend the day.

After just having come from Cang Shan, Xi Shan was not quite up to the same standard in terms of beautiful mountain views, but it did have some interesting temples scattered in the caves built into the cliffs.  I bought my gondola ticket and headed up the mountain with two very nice businessmen who I think were playing hooky from a day of meetings in the city.  We parted ways when I decided to get an electronic guide (in Chinese, but it had a small map on it) and I spent the rest of the day exploring alone.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Chinese tourists do not do solo travel.  The site of a single woman traveler got me lots of strange looks, questions if I was lost and even some catcalls – Pretty woman, pretty woman, do you understand me? (said in Chinese, over and over).  In Shanghai, seeing foreigners isn’t a big deal, but here, I was special.  The entire day I saw one other foreigner and that was later at the town.

I’ll put the town as its own post as I have hit the limit of the slideshow for this one.

What would cause you to trek to the top of a mountain?  What needs to be at the other side for the experience to be “worth it?”  Is natural beauty its own reward?  Should other explorers have made their mark?  Is it sports (skiing)?  Would love to hear.

3 Responses to “Exploring – Kunming, Yunnan part 1”

  1. alifeunlikemine December 8, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    Awesome…thanks for this! I’m heading here later on and posts like these are always helpful!

    • gkm2011 December 8, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      Thanks for the shout out! I hope that your trip to China goes well. I would definitely recommend that you start in the southern part of China if you’ll be here in January. Good luck!

  2. valerie December 9, 2011 at 3:27 am #

    Nature is its own reward is reason enough!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

