Blowing a fuse

13 Dec

Last weekend, I blew a fuse. 

Literally.

I plugged in my computer and a huge spark came out.  Then the light next to the couch turned off.  And the TV.  

After closer inspection, the cord had frayed and nearly split between my computer cord and the plug.  It was no longer safe.  But I still had to do something (other than getting a new plug).  When I had first moved into my apartment there was once that all the lights went out and I had to call the maintenance people to come.  This meant that I now knew where the circuit breaker was, which was in the cupboard above the catch-all by the door.

Over the last several years, that cupboard has filled itself up with my purses, hats, rain gear and all number of things.  I had to pull them out to get to the circuit breaker – which was tripped.  Because I blew that fuse, I got to take another look at my cupboard and found a purse I haven’t used for a long time. 

I think that I must be getting more comfortable here if I can solve these type of problems without calling a Chinese friend or needing a dictionary.  I’d say that’s the best result possible.

Anyone else blown a fuse lately?

One Response to “Blowing a fuse”

  1. valerie December 13, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    yes — a mental fuse — because i’ve lost my wallet. ARGH!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

