Christmas chrust

12 Jan

One of the universal traditions of holiday seasons is making lots and lots of different types of food.  This year for Christmas we continued a tradition of making polish chrust with three generations of chrust makers included.  All parties involved said that this year’s result was one of the best in recent memory – light and fluffy yet crisp.

In process - frying, twisting and supervising

 

The cooks with the finished product

The Christmas dessert line-up with chrusts in the middle

Sharing good food makes the holiday even sweeter.  What’s your favorite holiday specific dish?  Please share.  One special thing about chrust is that since you fry them instead of baking them it means that I could make them here in China where I don’t even have an oven.  Perhaps I’ll have to take a try for my next holiday season.

2 Responses to “Christmas chrust”

  1. Anne January 12, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    You know my answer: Chrust!!!

  2. valerie January 13, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    Looks tasty! I’ve never had chrust — will have to look for it next holiday season, maybe a local bakery will have it with the high polish population around here. Our holiday dishes have been changing a lot in recent years — my sister has taken over the holiday cooking and each year is something new and fabulous (but no annual staple has found its way to the table). However, I always have fond memories of my mom’s apple muffins and egg nog for breakfast and spinach casserole at dinner. This Christmas, I didn’t spend it with my family, and I missed those items most!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

