Time warp

22 Jan

Due to a serious cold,  I recently headed home after lunch one afternoon so that I could take some extra rest.  It was a bright sunny day and everyone was enjoying the springlike weather.  There was bedding airing on the street corners and the ubiquitous clean laundry hanging from windows.  As I sneezed my way towards my apartment I noticed that I was the youngest person by far on the street.  It seemed like everyone was over 60 years old, walking along, playing cards or mah jong or sitting in the sun on little tiny chairs. 

In front of the corner convenience store there was a row of half a dozen very senior citizens, eyes closed in chairs that a three year old would be comfortable in.  The contrast between the modernity of the local “Family Mart” which isn’t even 6 months old and the creased, knowledgeable faces relaxing in the sun twisted my sense of time.  The elders relaxing in the sun looked as though they had seen everything – and given the history of China over the last 7o to 80 years, that could be a fair statement.

And so, as I made my way home, the day and pressure and stress fell away, absorbed into the sunshine and time warp on that street corner.

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

