Year of the Dragon

26 Jan

The Chinese zodiac has twelve animals that are typically represented in a wheel, meaning that once you tell someone which animal you are, they can get to your age pretty easily.  I remember looking at the placemats at Chinese restaurants when I was growing up, calculating the year of birth, to read my own fortune and those of my brother and sister and parents.  There is also another level of complexity that adds the elements into the picture – wind, water, earth and fire.

2012 starts the year of the water dragon.  In western culture, dragons tend to be seen as scary, wicked creatures – St. George the Dragon Slayer, or the dragon keeping the princess in the tower.  In China, dragons are seen as symbols of power – the emperor used to be represented by a dragon and it is seen as symbolizing wealth.  I don’t know if it’s true as I haven’t researched birth records in China, but I have heard that more boy babies tend to be born in the year of the dragon so that parents start their child out with the best luck possible.

I did a little research and some famous dragons include Bing Crosby, John Lennon, Shirley Temple and Michael Douglas – so dragons tend to be creative and charismatic individuals which I have always known since my mother is a dragon as well.  However, in your own year, Chinese believe that it is possible for bad things to happen and you need protection – so be careful this year mom!

According to my own horoscope, the year of the dragon looks to be a positive one for me, so we’ll see how things go!

2 Responses to “Year of the Dragon”

  1. Tex January 26, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    Thank you Greta. I will keep your caution in mind as I go thru the year! MOM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Welcoming the Year of the Snake « 中国 Jumble - February 10, 2013

    […] animal gets front and center in the Chinese psyche.  The year we are just finishing was the year of the dragon, a very auspicious year, that was considered lucky for getting married and having babies.  A baby […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

