Smoke flowers and poppers

2 Feb

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fireworks are an intrinsic part of Chinese culture.  With the invention of gunpowder, “smoke flowers – fireworks” and “poppers – fire crackers” (烟花 & 鞭炮) have illuminated the night skies for battles, parades, weddings and births.  The red packets are ubiquitous this time of year – hawked on street corners and in supermarkets, all with the promise of beautiful and loud results.

Starting in 2011 the Shanghai government proclaimed that certain districts would be firework free for Chinese new year.  I cannot comment on last year as I spent my lunar new year in Thailand, but this year it certainly seemed that the ban was not being enforced.  Judging by the amount of debris all over our complex and the streets surrounding it, the firework lovers were in full force to wish in the year of the dragon.

In full disclosure, I didn’t make it to midnight for Chinese New Year.  A very bad cold and some heavy duty cough syrup caused me to full asleep just short of the goal.  Li did stay up though and took some photos within the apartment complex.  There are two things to consider as you look at these photos.

1) The distance between the apartment and the fireworks themselves.

2) The fact that he took these off of the balcony – that they were this close.

I am surprised that each year we don’t hear of many individuals who were maimed or injured by the powerful fireworks, but perhaps the history and sense of respect is on China’s side.  That said, my windows were firmly closed on New Year’s Eve.

What do fireworks mean to you?

3 Responses to “Smoke flowers and poppers”

  1. valerie February 3, 2012 at 3:20 am #

    Wow — I’m impressed that you slept through the noise of the fireworks being that close! Fireworks mean 4th of July to me — warm summer nights, outdoor grilling, and supporting the red, white and blue 🙂

    • gkm2011 February 5, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

      I’ve found that if you have strong enough cough medicine you can sleep through most things. However – when I was recently in the Philippines I was woken up at 3 am by a crazy rooster who then crowed until I was supposed to wake up at 6. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The third quarter review « 中国 Jumble - April 17, 2012

    […] – I did several posts on the year of the dragon, capped off by my favorite documenting the fireworks in my apartment complex on Chinese New Year’s Eve.  Three months into the year of the dragon […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

