Do you have an umbrella?

5 Feb

I had just gone through my second security check of the day – the first being in Shanghai’s Pudong airport- the second now in the Manila airport.  We had a layover to fly from Manila to Cebu and had to transfer from the international to the domestic terminal.  Each of us had a small bag and neither had any problems at the first stop.

The female attendant asked if they could open my luggage.  My thoughts initially went to the large bottle of prescription cough syrup on top – it’s over 100 mL so the obvious choice for a question.  Instead – “Do you have an umbrella?”  I did have an umbrella actually.  She said – in the Philippines it was illegal to carry on an umbrella and I (and Li) both needed to check our bags because of the umbrella.

I was flustered and hot, not ready to check my bag.  Finally I acquiesced and went back through security where we checked Li’s bag – pulling out the contraband in mine and receiving a baggage ticket for our trouble.

Security in the Philippines is a strange mixture of politeness – there are separate lines for men and women – and the worst of US policy – I had to take off my shoes, which is pretty nasty when you are wearing sandals.  They didn’t seem to care about liquids, but my umbrella was deemed a weapon. 

We spent a wonderful 8 nights in the Philippines.  While it did rain, it was only at night.  I didn’t use the umbrella the entire time.

3 Responses to “Do you have an umbrella?”

  1. erica @ expatria baby February 5, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    Oh man, that sounds totally annoying. BUT, I am looking forward to your Phils pictures; can’t wait to see them and be injected with a bit of tropical love, even vicariously.

    Oh, and BTW, I’m going to be in SH in mid-late Feb; sometime after the 21st for about 6 days. Let’s meet up! You can meet Stella-chan!! (That is, assuming you’ll be around).

    • gkm2011 February 5, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      Sounds wonderful! No travel planned through the end of the month so I should be here. I’ll send you an email and we’ll get something planned!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Be careful next time « 中国 Jumble - January 29, 2013

    […] still takes the cake for the most obtrusive, but even the Philippines has the umbrella rule (click here for that story) and other islands weigh you before you check in.  Recently in Singapore I also had […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

