Return of the milkman

18 Mar

The Chinese says – “We’ll deliver fresh to your door every day!”

This advertisement was posted in the elevator of my apartment building.  Fresh milk delivered to your door.  Fifty years after individual milk delivery stopped in the states, it reemerges in Shanghai.  What a world.

What else would you like to have delivered to your door?

4 Responses to “Return of the milkman”

  1. valerie March 19, 2012 at 1:28 am #

    Hot coffee from Intelligentsia every day! And I actually remember our neighbor’s getting milk delivered in the 80’s from Oberweis. And Oberweis still advertises to do that (not sure how many really get it though — but it is on their website, so it isn’t dead yet!).

    • gkm2011 March 20, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

      I forgot about Oberweiss! Well perhaps my statement was a bit strong that it had completely disappeared. Perhaps a better view is that it switched from the normal to something of the upper class or elite or organic food minded (per Christa’s comment).

  2. Christa March 20, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    I think you would be surprised how many people are starting to get milk delivery again here. I think it is part of the “buy local/organic” movement. My brother has a milk box on his front porch, as do many of the families I visit each day.

    There have been many times I wished ice cream would be delivered to my door. Found out the other day that the pizza place I occasionally order from also delivers gelato. This could be trouble…

    • gkm2011 March 20, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

      Delivery ice cream – that could work! There is a place here that delivers smoothies, but they tend to be half melted by the time they make it. If you do order the gelato – let me know!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

