The glamour of business travel

22 Mar

“You’re so lucky!  That sounds like so much fun!”

my friend in the states told me when I said that I have a last minute trip to Singapore.

I am trying to be more positive recently so I just said – “Yes, it’s great!”

But inside I was thinking that I have an overnight flight which leads to an 8:30 am meeting, 4 days of trying to patch up an issue, along with serving as a mediator between two groups, work lunches, dinners, the hotel by the office is booked already, so I don’t know where the new one is, trying to squeeze in a couple of vendor meetings and doing all of the work that I was planning to do next week in China.  Great.

Glamorous?  Maybe from the outside in.

Or maybe it’s a state of mind.  If I retrain my mind I could be thinking that I’ll get to see some colleagues that I haven’t seen in over six months, enjoy the warm weather and relatively pollution free atmosphere in Singapore, add to my frequent flier miles, try a new “boutique hotel,” eat at the Hawker’s market that I wrote about in one of my first blog posts and hopefully create an action plan for a situation that is desperately needed.

Now that is glamorous and maybe a little fun too.

Which type of trip will I have?  I’ll let you know when I get back.

Any other thoughts on business travel?

6 Responses to “The glamour of business travel”

  1. expatlingo March 22, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    Agreed that business travel, no matter how interesting the destination, can be a complete slog because you spend most of your time in offices and hotels. So in some ways it’s just like the normal office routine but with way more meetings and jet lag. Good luck with your trip. Stay focused on the prize: the night out at the hawker’s stalls.

    • gkm2011 March 22, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

      Thanks – I need a little luck given the project, but it is already starting well. Will keep you posted!

  2. mona March 23, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    It’s all in the perspective, isn’t it?

    • gkm2011 March 24, 2012 at 11:20 am #

      Definitely – most things are – we have to choose. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. valerie March 25, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    I understand your thoughts — I recently was in Dallas for work and thought the cafeteria catered meals will be sub-par and I dislike turbulance so was not looking forward to the flight but had to keep it in since I was flying with my boss’s boss. But the flight ended up to be easy and the weather was so beautiful that it was the only thing I could think about, like i looked forward to take walks at night in just a tank top and shorts (how is it that feeling the sun can make someone so much happier?). So I had a good trip, the food was ho-hum, but the warmth of the sun made it a great trip!

    • gkm2011 March 27, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

      Perspective – yes, you can choose a lot of how you react. This trip – my power of positive thinking won.

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

