Tuning the ivories

25 Mar

My piano is a source of joy and relaxation in the apartment.  Renting it a year and a half ago was a good move hands down.  Last weekend the piano tuner came – along with my rental comes twice yearly tune-ups.  The same gentleman has come before and after Shanghai’s cold winter and the temperature fluctuations over the last six months the piano needed his services as one of the low E flat keys was especially sticky.

I have been inspired by some of the wonderful photos that Li took in Boracay and tried to capture some shots of the inside of piano as the gentleman tuned.  Even this traditional occupation is changing in China  – this time instead of a tuning fork – which I believe he used six months ago – now an app from Apple is changing the piano tuner world as he gently placed an iPad on the keys.

Tuning a piano can serve as a metaphor for many aspects of life.  As time passes we may sag a little and needed to be tightened up – or maybe a sticky key is causing us not to be able to react as we’d like, or something is stuck inside that needs to be brought forward and dealt with or trashed.

Any thoughts on tune ups?

6 Responses to “Tuning the ivories”

  1. jotsfromasmallapt March 25, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    Me, too!!! Just had mine completely taken apart, hoovered, adjusted sticky keys and reset the pedal lyre. Sweet tones fill my space and all’s right with my world…..as it is with yours. Nice…………….

    • gkm2011 March 25, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

      I completely agree. The joy that comes with making the harmonies ring true – and is relatively easy to come by (assuming you can find a piano tuner), is a great pick me up. Thanks for the comment.

  2. valerie March 25, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    Beautiful pictures! I didn’t think about it until now but tuning the piano is an art and something I have not seen for a long time. And I was first surprised reading that the iPad could tune a piano — but I should not be surprised by technology anymore.

    • gkm2011 March 27, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

      Tuning/fixing – making things work together in succession and in harmony – yes, an art, science and a technique.

  3. thirdeyemom March 26, 2012 at 2:26 am #

    I am a piano player too! I love my piano but hardly get time to play it as the kids always run over and start joining in and ruining my beloved Moonlight Sonata, the only piece I can still play without much effort or mistakes.

    • gkm2011 March 27, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

      I love the escape that it gives, though sometimes it can be demoralizing as I look at the notes in my exercise books and realize that it was 15 or 20 years ago that I first studied a particular piece. I’d like to think that my musicality has improved as I have gotten older though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

