Buttons and strawberries

3 Apr

Wouldn't you buy?

Shanghai is finally drying out a little bit.  A recent afternoon it was crisp and windy as I headed out to run errands.  The sun had peeked out and lots of people were in the street.  Vendors with carts piled high with household products, fruit and snacks made walking down the sidewalk a bit of an obstacle course.

A small shop had boxes and boxes of buttons pushed into my path.  I involuntarily paused as my eyes darted across the buttons.  In childhood I developed a fascination with buttons – the calming, cool presence down an otherwise simple shirt or sweater.  Big, small, metallic, cloth covered, black, navy, ceramic – everything from Hello Kitty to big cloth covered coat buttons.  The box called to me, but I did not dig my hands in and explore.    I don’t need any more buttons, much as it pains me to say it.

Errands done I headed home a different way, away from the temptation of the buttons.  This time jewel toned strawberries lie spread at my feet.  Deep red, fragrant and sweet – I couldn’t resist.

It was an impulse purchase – and they were all gone twenty four hours later.  I did get a picture though.

What temptation have you faced recently?

2 Responses to “Buttons and strawberries”

  1. valerie April 3, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    Tulips and daffoldils. They’re so pretty right now (maybe because it’s spring, I see them popping up all over town and they scream “spring!”). And I’ve got the perfect pitcher to put them in!

    • gkm2011 April 3, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

      I haven’t seen daffodils here, but I have seen tulips – though I think it may be too warm now for them. I’ll need to get some fresh flowers in the house – bring in the spring!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

