Getting the joke (in mandarin)

19 Apr

This blurry photo is an ad for Burger King that was posted in the subway.

I post it not because I like Burger King that much, but because I “got the joke.”

The advertisement is for a chicken sandwich, which is pretty obvious by the chicken on the ad – but the funny part is that they have used wordplay in the ad.  The word for opportunity is ji hui (机会)and the work for chicken is ji (鸡).  So this time they said there was a chicken opportunity “鸡” 会.

Humor is the toughest part of another language and little by little I am getting there.

Have you ever “gotten the joke” in another language?

4 Responses to “Getting the joke (in mandarin)”

  1. TBM April 20, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    That’s pretty clever.

    • gkm2011 April 21, 2012 at 8:38 am #

      I was very pleased with myself when I figured it out. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Frances antoinette April 24, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

    To having master a language, it is said that you do one or both: 1. Dream in that language … 2. Understand the humor of that language (and therefore culture)

    • gkm2011 April 24, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

      I have heard that as well. I’ve had the dreaming part down for a while (at least as much as I can remember), but the humor – well, one day at a time. Thank you very much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

