Layover at Kunming airport

22 Apr

I was recently in the Kunming airport to do a transfer to another city in Yunnan called Tengchong.  The Kunming airport is definitely not up to the standards of the Singapore airport – with my major example being that all of the toilets in the airport (that I was able to find) are squat toilets.  This time I had a much more pleasant experience than the last time I flew through when I had some stomach trouble and the state of the bathrooms was higher on my priority list.

Since I had a couple of hours, I wandered through quite a bit of the airport and even pulled out my camera.  Because Yunnan is so close to Myanmar and Thailand, there is a lot of fruit available and some of it is very unusual.  These photos show Buddha’s hands, which I have never had, as well as the classic smelly fruit – the durian.

In addition the beautiful weather in the province means that there are beautiful flowers everywhere – even the airport.  I didn’t buy any because I was transferring and at the start of my trip, but the idea that you could buy them and bring them home was really nice.

So many beautiful flowers!

After I took these photos I still had some time so I paid 20 RMB (about $3 USD) for a chair massage and then headed to my gate.

Any favorite places for layovers?

14 Responses to “Layover at Kunming airport”

  1. jotsfromasmallapt April 22, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    Do like the fact we get to come with you when you travell………..brilliant!! Thank you.

    • gkm2011 April 23, 2012 at 9:02 am #

      Glad that you enjoy my trips! More to come from Yunnan over the next couple of weeks – I’m trying to mix it up!

  2. Madhu April 23, 2012 at 3:15 am #

    My best so far has been Singapore and the worst ever, Sao Paulo!

    • gkm2011 April 23, 2012 at 9:03 am #

      The Singapore airport is definitely in a class by itself – but I’ll be flying to Hong Kong in a few weeks so want to compare. Haven’t had the opportunity to fly in South America yet, but I trust you if Sao Paulo is tough. I think the old Delhi airport was also a struggle – just getting your tickets was quite an event.

  3. valerie April 24, 2012 at 8:39 am #

    very pretty flowers!!

  4. thirdeyemom April 25, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    I would love to go to that part of
    china! I heard it is beautiful and I love the food from that region. I never asked what do you do for a loving and how you ended up in China.

    • gkm2011 April 25, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

      It is beautiful – and a bit of chance that I’ve been there twice in the last six months. I originally came to China on a leave of absence from my job and taught English for 9 months (2007-2008), then I transferred to my company’s Shanghai office in late 2008 after I decided teaching wasn’t my first choice of career. I’m a consultant with a specialty in employee benefits and insurances – I have been quoted in the China Daily on those topics as I posted last fall. 🙂

      • thirdeyemom April 25, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

        Wow, impressive! Where are you originally from? If I wasn’t home raising a family and needed a solid base, I’m sure I’d be somewhere else. My husband and I hope to continue our traveling life once we retire as long as we are in good health. I would love to volunteer for stints abroad, with him! 🙂 Got to keep dreaming!

      • gkm2011 April 26, 2012 at 8:57 am #

        I have a lot of people say – “I live vicariously through you.” 🙂

        From your blog I think people may tell you the same thing.

        Originally from the midwest – shout out for Michigan! Thanks for reading.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flowers of Tengchong, Yunnan « 中国 Jumble - April 29, 2012

    […] I referenced in my post about my layover in the Kunming airport, I recently took a trip to Tengchong, Yunnan. The trip was similar to my trip last year to […]

  2. What’s a loquat? « 中国 Jumble - May 6, 2012

    […] the home of loquats is Yunnan province – there were even a few in my pictures of fruit at the Kunming airport if you look […]

  3. The fourth quarter update « 中国 Jumble - July 15, 2012

    […] Layover at Kunming Airport – Before I went to Tengchong I had a long layover in Kunming.  This post keeps popping up as a […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

