I’ve been nominated for…

26 Apr

Two blog awards!

Over the last month or so I have been privledged to be nominated for two different blog awards.  The first nomination is from Mona who is at Ramblings for the Versatile Blogger award and the second nomination is from Jots from a Small Apartment at Jotsfromasmallapt for the Liebster award.  Thank you both Mona and Jots – knowing that others also enjoy my stories of life in China and Asia has been a very rewarding experience.

It has taken me awhile to figure out how I would like to respond to these two awards because lately I have been traveling quite a lot and although Zhongguo Jumble has now celebrated is 3rd quarter anniversary, I still consider myself a novice in this space.  After having read the background on each award, please find my response below.

The Versatile Blogger award asks for me to share seven things that most people don’t know about me.  I don’t include my family in this “don’t know about me” category as they know me best and the below should not be a surprise.

1) Despite the fact that I’ve lived and worked in China now for nearly 5 years, my first “other language”  was Spanish in Spain.  I lived in Spain for a year at university and my Spanish was better than my Chinese is now.

2) I most miss fresh avocadoes in China.  They sell them here but they are ungodly expensive and often not ripe at all.

3) If money were no object I would go back to university and progressively study different languages – first clean up my Spanish, then come back to Chinese, then German, then maybe Arabic…

4) I played the clarinet in Notre Dame’s orchestra for several concerts in college.

5) When I got my teaching certificate for TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language), I volunteered at the Chinese mutual aid society in Chicago.

6) I love to sing and used to sing at Holy Name Cathedral in Chicago.  When I auditioned for a choir in China though they told me I wasn’t professional enough.  Singing is serious business in China!

7) I was interviewed at the auto show (in Chinese) in Shanghai several years ago and was on the Shanghai equivalent of the 6 o’clock news.  For the record – I’m for electric cars.

The Liebster Blog rules are as follows:

1.Thank your Liebster Blog Award presenter on your blog.

2. Link back to the blogger who presented the award to you.

3. Copy and paste the blog award on your blog.

4. Present the Liebster Blog Award to 5 blogs of 200 followers or less who you feel deserve to be noticed.

5. Let them know they have been chosen by leaving a comment at their blog.

As I’ve already thanked Jots and linked to her above, I’ve completed 1-3.

Actually, both the Versatile Blogger and Liebster ask to nominate my current favorite blog reads, so I’ll combine the two of them together in the below and will nominate them for the Liebster award on their blogs, not sure actually how many followers any of the below blogs have.

I’ve put four favorites below for you to check out.  Each has a different focus – so take a look!

Expat Lingo – I especially enjoy the comments on language learning.

Five and Spice – A great cooking blog that has had me drooling – and wishing for a foreign grocery store.

Everyday Epistle – A blog that keeps me down to earth with great insight and reminders of home in the States.

Sarah in Guangzhou – Guangzhou is a city in south China that I have visited several times for work.  I linked through another of my favorite China blogs, her point of view has me laugh because it is so right!

So thank you again to Mona and Jots for giving me the opportunity to share a little more about me and some of my favorite blogs.

Any other favorites that you have that I should check out?

18 Responses to “I’ve been nominated for…”

  1. Aimee @ everydayepistle.com April 26, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    Thank you so much for the nomination and kind words!

    • gkm2011 April 27, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      You are welcome! It’s my pleasure.

  2. jotsfromasmallapt April 26, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Well done!!!!

    • gkm2011 April 27, 2012 at 8:32 am #

      Thanks for the nomination!

  3. valerie April 26, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    congrats on the nominations!

    • gkm2011 April 27, 2012 at 8:32 am #

      Thanks Val – your support and comments over the last 9 months has been great!

  4. thirdeyemom April 27, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    Congrats on the awards ! I lived in Chicago and gotarried there. Studied at uw Madison. Fellow Midwesterner!

    • gkm2011 April 27, 2012 at 8:33 am #

      Thanks! I lived in Chicago 6 years before moving to Shanghai. Small world.

  5. TBM April 27, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    Congrats!

    • gkm2011 April 28, 2012 at 8:57 am #

      Thank you – it’s an affirmation that others also may find my life interesting and feels very good.

  6. Madhu April 28, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    Congratulations on the nominations!

  7. Frances antoinette April 28, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

    Congrats =) … I am totally for electric cars as well =) … anything that has to do with helping conserve our Mother Earth is great.

    • gkm2011 April 29, 2012 at 8:09 am #

      Thanks! I am as well, but the main reason that was my comment was at the time my Chinese automobile vocabulary was pretty limited. It’s not the type of vocab you learn in your first couple years of Chinese study. I am still proud of that interview though!

  8. sarahinguangzhou April 30, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    Thanks so much for your kind words about my blog. I will get round to accepting and linking back, just having a lot of problems with the VPN at the moment and everything takes so long to do. I’ll do it when I’m next in HK. Really enjoy your blog btw.

    • gkm2011 May 1, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

      The pleasure is mine – I understand VPN issues myself. Good luck with that and hope all is well.

  9. gkm2011 May 1, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Expat blog love | Expat Lingo - April 30, 2012

    […] 中国Jumble kindly nominated me for the Liebster Award. She shares a lot of great photos and stories of her time spent living in China and bouncing around Asia. […]

  2. Inspiring Blog Award « 中国 Jumble - August 12, 2012

    […] me.  I already shared some random information about myself when I was nominated for two other blog awards earlier this year, so I thought that I would write a little about what inspires me and then share a […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

