Flowers of Tengchong, Yunnan

29 Apr

As I referenced in my post about my layover in the Kunming airport, I recently took a trip to Tengchong, Yunnan. The trip was similar to my trip last year to Zhangjiajie, Hunan as it was with my work colleagues. The scale of this trip was smaller – it was only folks from the Shanghai office and it was about half of those (a tour group of about 15 people), the ones who have been with me over the last three and a half years. At this point we can enjoy each others company without talking about work and we really had a beautiful trip.  The other advantage of traveling with my colleagues is that it really allows me to “go local.”  The entire time that I was there I saw no other foreign faces – zero – so I’m pretty sure what I ate and what I saw is well off the beaten tourist track.

One of the pleasures about Tengchong and Yunnan in general is the beautiful flowers everywhere.  The climate is such that it appears if you put the plant in the ground it will multiply and thrive on its own.  Looking through my trip photos (and I took a lot) I realized that flowers were a consistent theme no matter if I was visiting the hot springs, the mountain gorge, the old town, etc., so I thought I would combine my flower photos for a collage of Tengchong’s best as an introduction to this little visited part of Yunnan.

One note – I do not know the name of these flowers – in English or Chinese, so if you have any guesses or thoughts I’d be happy to have some idea of what I took!  Most all are flowering trees so it may be that I would recognize the fruit, but not the flower.  Which is your favorite?

7 Responses to “Flowers of Tengchong, Yunnan”

  1. valerie April 30, 2012 at 12:40 am #

    I like the yellow ones!

    • gkm2011 May 1, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

      Thanks Val – I thought that photo turned out really nice.

  2. Madhu April 30, 2012 at 3:49 am #

    Gorgeous images! The first one is ‘Callistemon’ or ‘Bottle Brush’ and the second a ‘Bougainvillea’. No idea what the others are.

    • gkm2011 May 1, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

      You are good Madhu – I’ve heard of Bougainvillea before – and the Bottle Brush name makes sense – we were debating if they were feathers when we saw the tree. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

  3. thirdeyemom April 30, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    I love flowers! Beautiful pictures!

    • gkm2011 May 1, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

      Thanks – I do too, noticing them makes me a more positive person.

      • thirdeyemom May 1, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

        Me too! It is enjoying the small things in life that is best!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

