Christmas in May?

8 May

I was in a coffee shop waiting for a friend a week or so ago.  I hadn’t been before – it wasn’t a large chain, but had comfortable chairs, the ubiquitious free internet and tasty looking pastries.  I had purchased my beverage and just settled into a corner table.  Then I started listening to the music.

They were playing “O Little Town of Bethlehem.”

I have no idea how that song wound up on their mix tape.  It’s not even the correct time for Christmas in July.  Quite a random event for a Thursday morning.

When the song finished I listened to hear what would come up next.  The song after was some kind of rap mix.  I’m not sure if the random songs are enough reason to go back or avoid the shop in the future.  Even though Shanghai is steadily becoming more international the moments like this – that make me smile – seem to be happening more and more.

What do you think?

3 Responses to “Christmas in May?”

  1. sarahinguangzhou May 8, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    Yes I think because they don’t understand the words so they just pick something that has a nice tune to them.

    • gkm2011 May 8, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

      That may be the case – I should make some suggestions if I go back!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A travel month « 中国 Jumble - May 27, 2012

    […] and stories and photos.  I then throw in things that I come across in daily life (for example my music post a couple of weeks ago) and shuffle others around.  That said, I haven’t been home a whole lot […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

