Shopping behind the temple

13 May

A few weekends ago Li was traveling and I was on my own on a Sunday afternoon.  I had exercised in the morning with my trainer, gone to the grocery store and had been about as productive as possible during the day.  After debating with myself whether I would stay in and watch TV or get out of the house, I eventually went for a nice long walk.

It was a windy day, but not too cold and oddly clear weather for Shanghai’s spring.  My apartment is close to Wen Miao which is a small temple but quite historic.  I decided to head that way – I thought it was likely the temple had already closed for the day, but it’s a lively area with lots to see and eat.  As I wandered I snapped a few photographs to try to remember the day and the place.

Because there are two schools – elementary and a high school nearby there are lots of things that would appeal to kids. Many of the stores have stationery and school products and this time I also noticed an awful lot of Japanese stickers and Hello Kitty merchandise. The snacks are cheap and fast and you could see young couples and friends sharing food and browsing in the small stores. Even though I was by myself I felt very comfortable just observing.

I like the way that this temple is part of the community – a backdrop to daily life.  I’m glad I got out of the house.

Where do you go when you need to get out of the house?  What’s your favorite secret shopping spot?

8 Responses to “Shopping behind the temple”

  1. abc in shanghai May 13, 2012 at 10:33 am #

    where is this located? i’m always searching for things like this throughout shanghai

    • gkm2011 May 13, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

      The Wen Miao is close to the Laoximen subway stop – it’s east of Xizang Nan Lu and a street or two south of Hefei Road where the EMART supermarket is located.

  2. mona May 13, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    Delightful and informative photo essay. I feel as if I were there with you.

    • gkm2011 May 14, 2012 at 8:46 am #

      Thanks Mona – glad you enjoyed it. Maybe it’s a place you could go when you arrive in Shanghai this summer. Cheers!

      • abc in shanghai May 14, 2012 at 9:07 am #

        That sounds like the Confucian Temple …

      • gkm2011 May 14, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

        That may be another name for it, I’ve always seen that it’s the “Wen Miao” – there’s also a book swap/sale there on certain Sunday afternoons.

  3. Madhu May 17, 2012 at 3:38 am #

    Nice photos. Seems like a great place to people watch.

    • gkm2011 May 17, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      Thanks Madhu – it is a great place to wander through the streets, but more of a people watching “on the move” than watching in a park. I like that area of Shanghai – it is vibrant and not as impersonal as some of the newer areas. There is also a locally famous kebab restaurant nearby where you can get pretty much anything “on a stick.”

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

