The Bund at and after sunset

15 May

In my post a couple of weeks ago about exploring Shanghai with friends, I commented that after our day of exploring the older sections of town, we went to the Bund at sunset.  After going back to the US and combing through his photos, my good friend David was willing to share some of his remarkable photos from the end of that day.  These are images that symbolize Shanghai – past and future and the photos speak for themselves.

If you would like to see the larger photos you can click on each photo to see the detail.  What’s your favorite shot?  What epitomizes Shanghai to you?

Enjoy!

7 Responses to “The Bund at and after sunset”

  1. mona May 15, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    I was fortunate enough to visit the Bund 3 times (once at night). I have a shot similar to the 3rd one (skyline during the day) but without the glow on the buildings. This must have been near/at sunset. I do not have the night view.

    These pictures have convinced me to take my tripod with me when I return in June.

    I really like all of these shots … Thank you for sharing.

    These are two of my night shots of the the Bund.

    http://monahoward.com/2012/03/09/weekly-challenge-down/

    http://monahoward.com/2012/01/31/shanghai-lights/

    • gkm2011 May 15, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

      Thanks Mona – my friend David is really pretty remarkable and I’m lucky to have seen Shanghai through his eyes. I’ll check out your photos as well. Something about beautiful architecture really makes you want to keep coming back!

  2. valerie May 16, 2012 at 1:51 am #

    Those are some impressive pics! I like them all!

    • gkm2011 May 16, 2012 at 8:05 am #

      Thanks Val! It was beautiful to see the Bund – but David deserves credit for the pictures. Glad you enjoyed them – and see you soon!

  3. thirdeyemom May 16, 2012 at 7:28 am #

    Beautiful pictures! I was so lucky to be with my dad when we were in China and we stayed on the Bund with an amazing view! I LOVED the waterfront. Only regret is that I’m not a better photographer as my photos were terrible. It really is a beautiful city!

    • gkm2011 May 16, 2012 at 8:06 am #

      Thanks – David did a great job capturing this beautiful place. You are right – there is a lot that catches your eye in Shanghai – from laundry hanging to the new buildings there is always “something” to see.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The fourth quarter update « 中国 Jumble - July 15, 2012

    […] The Bund At and After Sunset – These beautiful photos taken by my friend David capture Shanghai from truly a special […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

