Exploring Shanghai – Red Town sculpture garden

22 May

As I wrote about earlier, I spent a lovely morning exploring Hongqiao Park and Xinhua Road.  After lunch I headed to the last stop on the walking tour, which was Red Town.  Red Town is an artistic community with lots of galleries, but there is also a huge central park area of sculpture.  I took several pictures of the sculptures and even tried to include myself in one shot as proof I had been there.  For any trivia lovers – on the side of the sculpture of Albert Einstein’s head it said that he was in Shanghai when he found out that he won the Nobel Prize.  In addition, there are several cafes where you can have a coffee or a tea and observe the sculpture away from the bustle of the main road.

Enjoy the photos.  The sculptures really range from the very life-like (the ladies on the bench) to the entirely surreal – a whole bunch of colored legs.

The whole day was full of interesting sculptures – from Deng Xiao Ping to naked ladies to bicycling clowns.  Any favorites?  What sculptures inspire you?

10 Responses to “Exploring Shanghai – Red Town sculpture garden”

  1. valerie May 22, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Those legs are fun (and my favorite)!

    • gkm2011 May 22, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

      I like the legs as well. Thanks for the comment!

  2. thirdeyemom May 22, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    The sculpture park is so cool! where exactly is it? Where do you live? What is your accommodations like? It seemed like Shanghai living is pretty tight and small unless you have a lot to spend. I’m curious what it is like for an expat. It is such a crazy city with so much insane wealth yet then there is traditional living right alongside it. I found it very fascinating!

    • gkm2011 May 22, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

      The sculpture park is right next to the Hongqiao Road subway station on line 10. I live off of line 10, but closer to the Xintiandi area of Shanghai where there are quite a few foreigners. Housing pricing in Shanghai to purchase are very high – more like New York City prices, but I’ve found that rents are ok, more like renting in Chicago so doable based on my comparisons from before. That said, my income is much higher than the average Chinese income – but even when I was teaching English and making around $1500 USD a month I was able to find a pretty nice place and share with a roommate at that time. Shanghai is definitely much more spacious and affordable than both Hong Kong and Singapore. Thanks for the question!

      • thirdeyemom May 23, 2012 at 1:03 am #

        Cool! I know the area you are talking to. We briefly entered it and I read in Lonely Planet that it is really cool. Thanks for enlightening my knowledge on things there! I’m always so curious. What is your apartment like? Do you know most of your neighbors?

      • gkm2011 May 23, 2012 at 11:40 am #

        It’s a pretty standard apartment – on the large side for Shanghai. If I remember correctly I posted photos on my previous blog (The Shanghai Chronicle) when I moved in several years ago. No central heating and no oven (which I really miss), but a kitchen large enough for two people to be inside and the rest is fairly spacious and room for guests. I know a couple of my neighbors but given my work and travel schedule am not actually home all that often when I’m not sleeping!

  3. KPo May 23, 2012 at 8:36 am #

    The “running legs” remind me of the “leg lamp” in “A Christmas Story”! Ha!

    • gkm2011 May 23, 2012 at 11:40 am #

      Glad to make a connection! Thanks for the comment.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Hong Kong sculpture snapshot « 中国 Jumble - June 14, 2012

    […] seem to be attracted to sculpture lately.  When I went to the sculpture garden in Shanghai I had a great time looking there and Hong Kong also had lots of sculpture in different places and […]

  2. The fourth quarter update « 中国 Jumble - July 15, 2012

    […] Exploring Shanghai – Red Town Sculpture Garden – This was one of my walking tours in the Shanghai area of a really interesting part of […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

