Eavesdropping in Texas

5 Jun

When I was in Austin spending time with my sister last month I had the opportunity to do some eavesdropping one day.  Given that I was in Texas, the natural inclination is that I pulled out my rusty spanish and heard a conversation or two, right?  Wrong.

While I did hear lots of Spanish – the conversation that perked up my ears was when I was waiting in my sister’s office for her to come back from a meeting.  She has three others in her shared office and one of them is originally from China.  He took a call in mandarin (from someone I later found out was his girlfriend) and exchanged pleasantries and some pretty short information about class schedules.  I smiled to myself as I’m pretty sure he wasn’t expecting me to be able to follow. Later that afternoon when my sister and I were heading out, I told him – in mandarin – that I speak mandarin and that I’ve lived in China for nearly five years.

His mouth pretty much hit the floor.  It was great – the ultimate eavesdropping.  Luckily nothing of importance was said and all parties left with a smile on their faces.

Have you ever eavesdropped on someone knowingly or unknowingly?  Any funny stories?

6 Responses to “Eavesdropping in Texas”

  1. darrell June 5, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    I used to go to Houston and Dallas quite a bit some time ago for business and every time I went, the flights were nearly completely full. Being full wasn’t the deal as much as it was mostly filled with Chinese folks. There must be a pretty large contingent throughout Texas.

    • gkm2011 June 6, 2012 at 12:12 am #

      I can’t comment on other places as I was only in Austin near the UT campus, but it is definitely possible. I sat next to a doctor (originally from China) on a plane once and she was based in Dallas so certainly possible.

  2. jotsfromasmallapt June 5, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    Impressive. Smiling here, too.

  3. valerie June 5, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    HA – yes, I listened into an inappropriate conversation on the train of a guy sitting next to me who was not talking to his wife 🙂 It gave my otherwise routine day a little spice.

    • gkm2011 June 6, 2012 at 12:13 am #

      That much have definitely perked your ears up! I guess that saying “the walls have ears” can be true when you’re on a train!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

