Exploring – Nan Lian Garden in Kowloon, Hong Kong

17 Jun

On a blistering hot day I went to Nan Lian Garden which is quite a ways from Central where I was staying with friends.  I used my Octopus card and got on the subway to the Diamond Hill MTR station and followed the very obvious signs under an elevated road and into the gardens.  It is a circular garden with a well defined path and strict rules that you are only supposed to go in one direction.  Because it was so hot there were very few people wandering through the garden and it was a peaceful and beautiful stroll.

From my tour notes it said the garden was in the style of the Tang Dynasty and noted that there was a restaurant inside run by the Chi Lin Nunnery.  As I walked by I decided to take a look and they had just opened for the day.  There was a set menu for one person, a seat inside with air conditioning and great vegetarian food and tea.  Since I arrived early I watched the rest of the bedraggled guests stream in looking for solace from the heat.  The majority were women (vegetarian food tends to do that) both young and old with everyone eating and tasting and talking in the middle of the day.

The garden is also connected – with a sky bridge over another high way – to a monastery in the traditional style.  Fortified with lunch I explored the area then headed back to the subway and on to my next destination.  It was a peaceful, calming place in the middle of one of the most dense cities in the world.

What’s your oasis in the city?  Where do you go for green and calm when you are too busy and have pollution and noise overload?

6 Responses to “Exploring – Nan Lian Garden in Kowloon, Hong Kong”

  1. expatlingo June 17, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    Oh that’s what it is! I spotted this place from the expressway one day. Nice to know what it is. I’ll have to make a point of visiting after the summer when things have cooled off a bit. Thanks for sharing some great photos.

    • gkm2011 June 17, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

      I would definitely recommend it and try to stop around lunch time too. Let me know if you do decide to go!

  2. TBM June 17, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    Wow…what a beautiful place. My oasis changes depending on my mood. It could be a park, a pub, or a crowded street to get lost in.

    • gkm2011 June 17, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

      I hadn’t thought about it, but you’re right – sometimes in crowds it is easiest to be alone. Interesting to think about. Thanks for the comment.

  3. Anne June 17, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    Wow looks so nice! I used to love to go to the Bahai temple and sit in the surrounding gardens when I was at NU.

    • gkm2011 June 18, 2012 at 10:02 am #

      It was great – and I think you took me to the Bahai temple once, right? That’s a beautiful spot as well. Have you found something like that in Texas?

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

