Trend spotting – froyo

28 Jun

Would you expect to get the same food in Austin, TX, Chicago, IL, Ann Arbor, Michigan and Shanghai, China?  I normally don’t – but in the two months I’ve seen the same trend in all of those different places.

And what is the trend?

Frozen yogurt.

It started with my visit to my sister in Austin, Texas.  Texas is a warm place and she suggested a snack after we had toured the campus.  Her snack of choice was a frozen yogurt place where they had special “tart” yogurt with self serve freezers and then you could add toppings.  You paid for the yogurt by weight.  I thought it was a pretty cool concept.

The trend continued when I was in Chicago.  The weather the first day was very hot and as the midpoint in a walk, we stopped at a shop for frozen yogurt.  Then, in Michigan at a shopping mall with my dad and his friend, there was a frozen yogurt stand where you could add fruit, chocolate, nuts, etc.  Confirmed – frozen yogurt was just about everywhere.

Enjoying our frozen yogurt in Chicago (photo courtesy of my friend David)

I didn’t think much about it until a week or so ago when I was going through the big food court in Raffles City here in Shanghai.  I turned a corner and found – a frozen yogurt stand, which was self serve with toppings.

Small world.

Sometimes things will come to Shanghai before they make it to my home.  Clothing trends especially seem always to be a little ahead.  Other things come much later or not at all.  Perhaps if I was from the east coast or the west coast the patterns would be different (for example, I understand frozen yogurt is old hat in California now) – but this trend appears to be everywhere at once.

So – in honor of summer, of the longest days of the year – of the heat – I suggest we all have a frozen yogurt.

What’s your favorite flavor?

4 Responses to “Trend spotting – froyo”

  1. valerie June 28, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    Pat and I were just saying the same thing — we’re getting 2 new froyo places in Elmhurst and Oak Brook mall just got a TCBY. I prefer vanilla chocolate swirl — no other toppings necessary 🙂

    • gkm2011 June 28, 2012 at 9:00 am #

      My parents told me that the TCBY in my home town closed in the last couple of years. We used to go for “healthy” treats. If only they knew that this trend was coming! I see that you are a traditionalist with your vanilla chocolate swirl. Happy 4th coming up.

  2. jotsfromasmallapt June 28, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    Downtown Portland OR is beginning to look like a Starbucks extension Yogurt shop on every corner!! Classic Chocolate…..what else is there?

    • gkm2011 June 28, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

      You are a purest – classic chocolate – I spread my loyalty around depending on my mood 🙂 Hope you have a cone soon!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

