Above the clouds

1 Jul

I’ve had lots of photos from my travels in May and June and am now finally getting through them.  On one of the many flights that I was on over the last couple of months I snapped these.  The way that I could look through the clouds down below with the beautiful morning sky made it a special flight.  If you look carefully you can see the slight curve in the horizon line behind the clouds.

Almost a year ago I started this blog with a post on Playing in the Clouds and it seems with these shots I have almost gone full circle.

What has been your favorite view outside an airplane window?  I love to see the Chicago skyline when I fly into O’Hare, I also like to see the lights twinkle below during night flights.  Any special flight plans?

5 Responses to “Above the clouds”

  1. expatlingo July 2, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    When we moved to Britain three years ago, we landed at Heathrow on a beautiful morning and the route the pilot took allowed us to see all of London’s key sights as we circled round to land. Almost felt like we were Marry Poppins starting life in a new place!

    • gkm2011 July 3, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

      What a beautiful image – I hope that the your time there kept up those high expectations!

      • expatlingo July 3, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

        Luckily we lived in a very quaint neighborhood of Cambridge and our three years there was very much an English fairytale of sorts.

  2. Madhu July 4, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    How beautiful!

    • gkm2011 July 4, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

      Thanks – it really was.

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

