Blueberries!

3 Jul

One of the foods that I miss the most in China is berries.  There are strawberries here in the early spring, but thus far raspberries, blueberries, blackberries are all in remarkably short supply in their fresh form.  There was one year that I brought a container full of blueberries back on the airplane to try to help with my cravings.

Sometimes the foreign supermarkets will have them, but in that case they are often $3 or $4 for a very small clam-shell container.

Imagine my surprise then, when last week I went into my local supermarket – EMART (where I had looked for peanut butter before) and in the fruit section there were lots and lots of small boxes of blueberries – for about $1.50 apiece!

The box of blueberries – what a find!

I looked carefully at the boxes – they didn’t appear to be imported – in fact they say that the blueberries are actually organic and from Qingdao in Shandong province.  Some enterprising Chinese soul has decided to plant berry bushes.  Blueberries are a super food – full of antioxidants and great to eat – perhaps they are the next trendy food in China?

I bought two boxes – I don’t know if the next time I go back there will be any more, but at least for two days this summer I will have blueberries for breakfast.  What a great change!

Happy upcoming fourth of July to those of you in the US!   I think perhaps my blueberry find was good karma for the upcoming fourth.  Have some blueberries for me on that day.

Any favorites that you would be happy to see at your local supermarket?  I know some folks in Michigan are that way about Vernors ginger ale, others in the south swear by a certain barbeque sauce or a type of fruit or sandwich or….  The world gets smaller.  What would give you the same surprise as my blueberries?

8 Responses to “Blueberries!”

  1. jotsfromasmallapt July 3, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Portland OR here….our farmer’s markets are filled with berry choices at the moment. Thinking of you and the sparse supply….but at least…blueberries…can’t complain…yea!!

  2. valerie July 3, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    We have had really good raspberries lately but I would take that mango I had in China any day here in the US 🙂

    • gkm2011 July 3, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

      In your honor I bought two mangoes on my way home from work this evening. I’ll eat them and think of your trip here.

  3. thirdeyemom July 3, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    Ah….I read this post just thinking about how amazingly good all our produce is now. The tomatoes, the corn, the blueberries and strawberries. I could just live off fruits and veggies all summer long! What about watermelon? That always reminds me of an American summer. Have you seen it in China? Are there other fruits people eat that we don’t here? It is very hot here now. 100 in Minneapolis and most parts of the Midwest. Got to love that crazy heat! 🙂

    • gkm2011 July 3, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

      Yes, there are lots of watermelon here. Last year there was even a problem with the crop in the north that made the watermelons explode. Peaches are good here and right now the tomatoes are luscious as well, but the sweet corn tastes very starchy so that’s another taste for home. Have an ear in my honor!

      • thirdeyemom July 4, 2012 at 6:25 am #

        Will do! 🙂 Happy fourth!

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

