The fourth quarter update

15 Jul

A year ago I wrote my first post for Zhongguo Jumble – time certainly goes quickly!  I’ve had around 5700 page views in that time and been blessed with lots of comments and friends following my experiences. I’ve stuck to a pretty strict posting schedule of three times a week and used my blog to notice some things that may have slipped past me before.

The last quarter has been a very busy time – lots of travel including Tengchong, Hong Kong, multiple places in the US and my trip to Mt. Tai.

I’d like to call out a few posts from the last quarter.  If you missed them the first time around, please check them out and also let me know if I missed your favorite.

The most popular posts that I had last quarter were:

1) Exploring Shanghai – Red Town Sculpture Garden – This was one of my walking tours in the Shanghai area of a really interesting part of town.  It was a beautiful spring day and I’d highly recommend it if you’re in Shanghai – though you may want to wait until it cools down.

2) Layover at Kunming Airport – Before I went to Tengchong I had a long layover in Kunming.  This post keeps popping up as a search term for my blog and so I’m guessing that lots of other folks also have had a long layover there as well.

3) The Bund At and After Sunset – These beautiful photos taken by my friend David capture Shanghai from truly a special angle.  They are well worth a second look.  I’ve put one of them here again to inspire all of you to visit Shanghai.

The post that merited the most comments over the last quarter was my post about the gala dinner that I attended in Hong Kong. That dinner was a look at a side of China that on the mainland I don’t see very often and it was a global affair with folks from lots of different countries all enjoying the evening.

I also had two recent posts that were more serious and thought provoking than my typical travel posts.  I posted on manners in China, wondering about respect for others and I also posted about my friend who had a second baby (a little sister) in the shadow of the one child policy.

Which post was your favorite?  Did I miss one that you especially liked?  Let me know, your feedback will help Zhongguo Jumble move into its second year.  Thanks again for your support.

4 Responses to “The fourth quarter update”

  1. expatlingo July 15, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    Congratulations on your one year blog anniversary!

    • gkm2011 July 15, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

      Thanks! It’s certainly gone quickly. Now I need to figure out how to take it to the next level!

  2. thirdeyemom July 15, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    Congrats! I’m on a year and a half now and never suspected I’d love it so much! I really like the posts on culture and traveling around China. Keep up the good work!

    • gkm2011 July 17, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

      Thanks! It has been a great experience.

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

