A musical interlude

22 Jul

Shrek!

I have been craving music and musical theater lately.  I noticed in one of the expat magazines that the BBC orchestra was in town but it was a Thursday performance and I found out about it too late to get a cheap ticket so that wasn’t a good option.  I kept my eyes open though and discovered that Shrek: The Musical was coming and so with Li’s help we got tickets and went on a Saturday.

I had checked the website multiple times that the performance was in English with Chinese subtitles, but still when we got there (to a beautiful performing arts center on South Shanxi Road just south of Fuxing Road that I had never been in before) it still felt strange because there were a lot of little kids there.  I figured the kids probably couldn’t understand the English.  No matter – we experienced a great performance with lots of color, amazing sets and great music – in English.

Getting the opportunity to go to a show reminded me that Shanghai is becoming more and more international.  I’ve got to make sure that I continue to take advantage of these type of events and keep planning ahead.

Have you seen a show recently?  What type of performing arts will get you out of the house?  Did it surprise you that Shrek was in China?

6 Responses to “A musical interlude”

  1. valerie July 23, 2012 at 5:38 am #

    No surprise that Shrek is in China – Shrek is an international brand (a little surprised that it was in English and not Chinese though). Julia and I went to see the Paris Opera Ballet in June – great show – the dance to Ravel’s Bolero is addicting!

    • gkm2011 July 23, 2012 at 11:28 am #

      That sounds like a great concert. I’ve got my ears open now for others in the future. They translated Mamma Mia into Chinese last year and I understand it was a big hit. Next time…

  2. eof737 July 29, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    Not surprised and good for you to go see it and enjoy it. 😉

    • gkm2011 July 30, 2012 at 7:12 am #

      It’s funny how the world is getting smaller with different cultural reference points available all over.

      • eof737 July 30, 2012 at 7:19 am #

        Exactly and it’s good! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Broadway in Shanghai « 中国 Jumble - November 4, 2012

    […] event took place at the Shanghai cultural center – the same place that I went to see Shrek earlier this year.  This time I remembered to take a couple of photos of the beautiful glass mural […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

