Another mandarin milestone

24 Jul

The other evening I turned on the air conditioner in my bedroom.  I decreased the temperature by one degree and I increased the wind speed for the perfect sleeping conditions.  Then I really looked at the air conditioner remote control.

I realized that I could read every character that was on it and I understood the meaning.

Wow.

Red letter day.

I remember when I first learned the character for “on” – 开; then I remember when I learned “off” – 关.  That was during the first four week intensive Chinese course I took in December of 2007.  I don’t remember where the rest of the characters came from – sometime in the last four years they joined the ever lengthening list in my brain.  I only know that when I moved into this apartment nearly four years ago the only button I was sure of was the on/off one.

I have typically had my mandarin milestones in the fall – October time period, but this year it came a bit early.  Maybe some day I will be fluent in Chinese.

Had any milestones with a language lately or do you remember a major milestone in the past?  I really consider Chinese three different languages, listening/speaking, reading and writing.  This was a big step for me in the middle category.

5 Responses to “Another mandarin milestone”

  1. Anne July 24, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    Congrats! That’s big!

    • gkm2011 July 24, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

      Thanks! Sometimes you have to look back and see the progress instead of looking ahead to see how far there is to go.

  2. expatlingo July 25, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

    Congrats!

    • gkm2011 July 26, 2012 at 7:30 am #

      Thanks – it was a pretty big thing (though in a small package)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A mandarin milestone – traveling and translating | 中国 Jumble - October 20, 2013

    […] Another Mandarin Milestone […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

