Welcome home (上海欢迎我)

29 Jul

Returning to Shanghai on a Saturday afternoon (from yet another trip to Singapore) I happened to look out the window about twenty minutes before landing.

For the first time that I can remember, it was a clear day.  I could see the ocean, the coast, boats going through shipping channels.  There were even puffy clouds.  I was seated by the aisle and didn’t have my camera handy but the contrast to a normal landing at Pudong airport was enough to bring a huge smile to my face.

It was as if Shanghai was welcoming me, had spiffed up, “put on the Ritz” and was glad to have me back.

View from my apartment taken the day after I landed. It is very rare to see the Jin Mao and the World Financial center so clearly – and there are even puffy clouds!

During the taxi ride back to my apartment I kept looking at the blue sky.  From much farther away than normal I could clearly see the Pudong skyline – the Jin Mao Tower, World Financial Center, even the Pearl TV tower.  I shared my awe with my taxi driver and we talked how we didn’t think it had been this clear since the Shanghai World Expo in 2010.  The cab zipped along and before I knew it I was home.

I found out later from Li that it had poured in Shanghai during the three days I was in Singapore.  The rain had likely pulled down the pollution, the gray skies and left the brilliant sunshine and puffy clouds.  Because I had been away, I didn’t experience that part, instead only the welcome.  The wonderful weather lasted for me for several more days until I had to travel again for work to the typhoon zone in Shenzhen and Hong Kong.  That’s another story though.

Where have you been welcomed lately?

(The Chinese next to the title says “Shanghai welcomes me” – it’s a slight riff on the song for the Beijing Olympics – Beijing Welcomes You 北京欢迎你 which I learned after the Olympics for the first annual dinner at my employer that I was in China.  It seemed fitting with the London Games now in process to throw in a veiled reference.)

8 Responses to “Welcome home (上海欢迎我)”

  1. jotsfromasmallapt July 29, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    It is so enjoyable “listening” to you talk about your life and travels.

    • gkm2011 July 29, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

      Thanks Jots! I appreciate your comments – sometimes it feels like I’m writing to myself. Enjoy your weekend.

      • jotsfromasmallapt July 29, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

        Know the feeling…”writing to myself”…..that’s why I write to My Reader. Consider me Your Reader…if you will?…absolutely enjoy your travels and adventures!
        Most sincerely, Raye.

      • gkm2011 August 1, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

        Thank you Raye – I appreciate that. Knowing that someone is reading really makes a difference.

  2. expatlingo July 30, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    Those blue sky days are a thrill. But also depressing, as they make you realize how lovely China *could* be all of the time.

    • gkm2011 July 30, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      Yes, I know. But for the time being I’m not going to think too deeply and just enjoy them. I would guess you’re heading back this way soon.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Welcome home (上海欢迎我) | Home Far Away From Home - July 29, 2012

    […] to Shanghai on a Saturday afternoon (from yet another trip to Singapore) I happened to loosource This entry was posted in asia by poster. Bookmark the […]

  2. Typhoon Vicente « 中国 Jumble - August 2, 2012

    […] last week had beautiful weather.  Picture perfect, drop dead gorgeous sunny days which I just wrote […]

Leave a Reply

The Mad Woman in the Attic

stories of a serial expat and solo traveller

Marta lives in China

8+ years and counting!

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

Crazy Chinese Family

My crazy Chinese Family I married into...

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

A Kick In The Butt

Advice on all things FITNESS by Personal Trainer Ariana Dane

China Elevator Stories

Conversations with locals in China

Chasing Sunsets

Current Location: The Daraja Academy; Nanyuki, Kenya

